From My Sketchbook 15

I was captivated by the colour and light of dawn in this scene, as well as the reflections in the water. So I decided to paint it in oils.

IMG_1954.2

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, From My Sketchbook, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to From My Sketchbook 15

  1. Hudson Howl says:

    Tally ho, into the sublime we go. Deliriously delicious, Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Hudson. Love your comments

      Like

    • Hudson Howl says:

      If I could I’d like to add…….. in the time this took to paint, am sure it give you endless thoughts to contemplate beyond the scope of the scene. As often is the case in art, the end result is the under painting, the really good shtufffs is retained in the artist’s mind. Yes, no?

      Like

      • Don says:

        You’re very perceptive Hudson. Spot on.

        Like

      • dmgartphoto says:

        When looking at a piece of my own I experience the creation process itself and all the small details that I made great effort to make perfect as well as thoughts that had during the process (I have a strong emotional connection to my own work 🙂 ). When I look at this painting I see a beauty and great artistry but I am sure that I can never appreciate it as much as Don himself because it is literally a part of his life. Am I right?

        Like

      • Don says:

        Yes you are so right and also very kind in your affirmation – thank you.

        Like

  2. Ese' s Voice says:

    Really beautiful, Don. The colors are almost surreal – so soft and mystical.

    Like

  3. ladyfi says:

    This really is breathtaking!

    Like

  4. I love it Don! It feels like you could fade into it and access a different, more peaceful world.

    Like

    • Lyn Stephenson says:

      I like the painting very much. You have captured the light and mood of the morning beautifully.
      John O Donohue’s words seem to fit…
      “As the breath of light awakens colour
      May the dawn anoint your eyes with wonder.”

      Like

  5. Tim May says:

    Well done Don!

    Like

  6. This is very subtly very beautiful. I love the muted colours and the reflections. 🙂

    Like

  7. Wow! This is so well done, Don. I grew up in an artist home with paintings all around me. Your family is blessed to have your art in the home.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  8. munchow says:

    I beautiful oil painting with wonderful light. I love the subtle colours and the tranquility the painting transcend. I almost look a bit like a Turner painting. Very nice, Don!

    Like

  9. nrhatch says:

    Simply stellar!

    Like

  10. Don says:

    Thank you Nancy.

    Like

  11. Very beautiful, Don. Colors, light, serene view. This theme and the colors you chose are a lovely background.

    Like

  12. Mary says:

    Beautiful quiet scene – lovely colors used.

    Like

  13. Judy says:

    The light you have captured here with you oils is spectacular! I love the software mood. Really appealing ….love it!

    Like

  14. Judy says:

    I swear I did not type software! It the soft mood I love.

    Like

  15. cindy knoke says:

    Such talent! Bravo~

    Like

  16. Miss Hava says:

    I´m impressed how amazing you work with oil colors. There´s such un ease in this picture….

    Like

Leave a Reply

