Great Thoughts

galaxy-10994_640

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have you ever noticed how great thoughts, and I know this is a matter of perception, seem to have the mark of coming from somewhere distant and beyond? Many feel this way. It’s this sense of beyondness and distance that often motivates us to describe such thoughts as being  inspired, as if they were not manufactured by the mind, but simply used it as a vehicle of expression.

Now, what I find fascinating about such thoughts is that when they are expressed here in the nitty gritty and practicalities of life, their credence and influence is beyond question. They speak into the here and now and it becomes pretty clear that the “beyond” is not beyond the relevance of the “here.”

Someone said, I forget who, “that the beyond holds all its secrets right here.” I believe that.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beyond the Rational, Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Great Thoughts

  1. I believe this, too, Don. Everything we need is right here, now. So many feel the need to search and look for what’s already in their possession… or their grasp. We can be so easily inspired by the gifts with which we’re already blessed. A wonderful perspective and post. Thanks for highlighting the evident.

    Like

  2. Absolutely, the beyond is immanent.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    The first time that I experience such a thought, I KNEW that it KNEW what it was talking about. It said simply, “This is YOUR house.”

    I glanced up from the book in my lap and KNEW that the house with the “For Sale” sign was MY house.

    And I KNEW that that intuitive knowing welled up from a source inside me that was far beyond the limits of my mind.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Fascinating Nancy. Beyond the limits – I often wonder where that is. But then I suppose that’s a superfluous question. It’s ultimately how the thought enriches your life.

      Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    yep!…hows that for a intellectual comeback?

    Like

  5. ptero9 says:

    Yes, love this Don. It’s such an exhilarating feeling, as if we have touched or been touched by something beyond us that makes us feel that we are not alone, even if we don’t know what it is.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I suppose Debra that “not knowing” gives a numinosity to the experience. When we label it and define it and try wrap it up in a package we lose the mystery. Thank you for the thought.

      Like

  6. Elke says:

    I have been reading your articles for years,they are an inspiration. Many I have send to my children, like this one. Thank you for your inspiration, your wisdom and for sharing with us!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Elke, thank you for your affirming comment. To know you have continued to find inspiration here, warms my heart. You inspire me with your words. Again, thank you.

      Like

  7. darrelhoff says:

    I like this Don. 🙂 i always believe “there is something far bigger going on here.” to not see that is a shame…

    Like

  8. theINFP says:

    The older I get the more accessible this seems to be Don

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    It’s good to feel there is something beyond ourselves.

    Like

  10. Shweta says:

    True Don ! I so agree with you when you say- “when they are expressed here in the nitty gritty and practicalities of life, their credence and influence is beyond question” and indeed they influence our lives.
    Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  11. katy says:

    I know exactly what you mean Don. At various times in my life, I have experienced wisdom
    and thoughts that I just KNOW have come from somewhere above and beyond and they just
    perfectly fit the moment. I treasure those moments!

    Like

  12. Elfie says:

    I kept staring at that marvellous photo you chose to enhance your thinking……………..and saw clearly a galaxy pregnant with new LIFE, LIGHT, MOVEMENT and vast possibilities surrounded by the DARKNESS……………….and then this shattering thought ………..”and from MY perspective this is how I see you ”
    I shall simply allow myself to weep for a while…………………..

    Like

    • Don says:

      I just love the way you describe that image Elfie – life, light, and movement and vast possibilities – absolutely beautiful. That’s precisely what it’s all about. Sometimes our thinking is so small, so narrow and so tight. Thank you for your kind thoughts and thank you for who you are – a sheer inspiration to all around you.

      Like

  13. I think you got it, Don. And have you noticed how sometimes similar thoughts can appear in different minds all over the world? Like Carl Jung’s ‘Collective Unconscious’ in a global sense? It’s all awe-inspiring! 😉 LUV your thoughts & look forward to more.

    Like

  14. Pingback: A Quest to Knowingness | Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

