“Mystical” Tree Ferns

Tree Ferns 6.1-181

Tree ferns have a kind of ethereal look about them, especially when the light catches them in a particular way. I was in the Umgeni Birdpark recently and saw these. Standing there with my camera, this little scene communicated an aura and mystery that was quite numinous.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Nature, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to “Mystical” Tree Ferns

  1. josna says:

    Oooh. The three of them together, with the sun shining down upon them, create a whole world.

    Like

  2. Hey! you got them! I too find tree ferns really amazing. Thanks for posting this.

    Like

  3. They are sacred in Polish myths and legends, actually. Lovely photo, Don.

    Like

  4. I love tree ferns…we have smaller ones in Texas…beautiful and so soulful.

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Yes! Quite primordial . . . I expect to see dinosaurs roaming about ‘neath enormous hovering hummingbirds.

    Like

  6. Forest So Green says:

    For some reason, I expect to see a waterfall nearby. Great photo. Annie

    Like

  7. Lorem Ipsum says:

    Nice photo, Don. I too am a great fan of the tree fern. If I think about it, it probably has as much to do with the habitat tree ferns thrive in, as much as anything. Cool, wet rainforests are very calming environments and lend to meditative thought, I find.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes, I think what you say about the habitat the tree fern speaks of, Lorem, definitely does shape our perception of it. As I thought about your words, they made so much sense. Thank you.

      Like

  8. This shot reminds me of the Rhododendron Preserve on the Kitsap Peninsula in Washington State. It’s absolutely beautiful and the ferns are as abundant as the rhodos. Magnifique!

    Like

  9. ptero9 says:

    Lovely color and textures Don. You can almost feel and smell them.

    Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    Ferns are so humble and unnoticed, aren’t they? But so lovely too.

    Like

  11. Ooooh, I live in the Canadian rain forest where we have plenty of ferns — but I’ve seen nothing like these huge beauties! They are mystic, Don. Thanks. 😉

    Like

    • Don says:

      Glad you liked them Vanessa. What a place to live – the images I’ve seen of Canada are just magnificent. You live in a beautiful, beautiful land.

      Like

Leave a Reply

