Contemplative Doodling – Optimism

Can we create our own reality? I think we can. Optimism is certainly one of those visionary tools for doing so.

IMG_2151.2

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Contemplation, Contemplative Doodling, inspiration, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Contemplative Doodling – Optimism

  1. carinzil says:

    Being optimistic is the best thing to do… in any situation.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I often wonder how we discern between a realistic kind of optimism and an unrealistic one, or is there such a thing. Thank you.

      Like

      • josna says:

        You took the words out of my mouth, Don. Optimism is one thing–and a very important one certainly–but if taken to extremes the optimist can become like your desert-island guy (love the cartoon!), living in a fantasy land.

        Like

      • Don says:

        You know Josna, that’s so crucial. – the distinction between fantasy and solid optimism. So much of what we call optimism is really this kind of superficial ra, ra stuff, It really is just nonsense. You even get the impression that those who are espousing it really don’t believe it themselves. Good reminder.

        Like

  2. Hudson Howl says:

    Funky new theme and spot on perceptiveness. Don I applaud you. Salut. I fall to your feet an worship your insight.

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness, Don. This made me smile from ear to ear. So true – we do create our own reality. Find the bright side. Be silly often and laugh uproariously when given the opportunity!

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Love the new look of your blog . . . and your optimism ALWAYS shines through. 😎

    Like

  5. Ese' s Voice says:

    Enjoyed, most definitely! Though there’re moments of various shades, I am trying to stick to the though about the glass being half full. Fortunately! 🙂
    Aaaand the new design is really nice, Don.

    Like

  6. Holli says:

    Love the new template. Generally speaking, I am the one waving.

    Like

  7. ptero9 says:

    Yep, might as well wave. Like the new look Don!

    Like

  8. I’ve always believed we can create most whatever we want. It’s as easy to create a “reality” (and of course, what is reality?) as it is to fabricate fantasy or allow delusion. Choice plays a significant role in what works for each of us. I find optimism and happiness not mutually exclusive. Martin Seligman and his colleagues have certainly proven that we can create our own. It a fascinating field of study. Enjoying your new WP “theme. Onward!

    Like

    • Don says:

      It certainly must be a fascinating field of study. Would you say Eric that if we created a delusion or fantasy that, that would be our reality?

      Like

      • The creative mind is limitless, isn’t it? I don’t have a clear or definitive answer to your intriguing question, Don. If I attempted a reply based in semantics, I suppose I could make a case for a view or perspective that is grounded in reality. Yet isn’t reality subjective?

        Like

      • Don says:

        Thanks Eric. I sometimes feel that reality is more than being subjective. Not sure how, but I feel it is. Ken Wilber for me has been very helpful with regard to this. Appreciate your response.

        Like

  9. The lovely Mr S always says ‘Optimists have more fun’ and I think he’s right. Love your cartoon! 🙂

    Like

  10. Okay, this was funny….thanks for the smile this Monday morning.

    Like

  11. ladyfi says:

    I agree – optimists do have more fun!

    Like

  12. lolarugula says:

    This literally brought a huge smile to my face. Love it!

    Like

  13. toemailer says:

    We would love to post that at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

    Like

  14. Pingback: Contemplative Doodling – Optimism | iBourgie

  15. Don, this is delightful! 🙂

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

Leave a Reply

