Surprise Me

A friend of mine was asked what he wanted for his birthday. “Surprise me” was his response. Thinking about this I realized he’d done two things; he’d opened himself to the gracious offer of a gift, but had also relinquished his influence over getting what he wanted. I liked that.

frogs-37107_640I wonder if we aren’t a little too obsessed with ordering our lives and the world around us? Don’t you think the controller in us has gradually become the stifler of life’s surprises? I think so. It seems to me the art of “letting things be” is a lost one. Too often it’s been described as laziness or indifference, and no doubt it can become that, but there’s a wisdom here that needs to be grasped.

There’s something profoundly reverential and respectful about letting things be. It’s the art of being with things, whether that be people, events, or any other part of created reality, without the need to always want to change and control. It’s simply being with and allowing whatever it is, through its own essence, to teach, animate and nourish us.

I think life yearns to surprise us. All she calls for is the freedom and space to do it.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, inspiration, Letting go of Ego, Life, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Surprise Me

  1. nrhatch says:

    Fantastic post, Don! Loved every word and agree. When we have our eyes on a set destination of our own choosing . . . we may miss all the lovely surprises along the way.

    And, even if we get exactly what we want , we may find to our dismay that we don’t want it at all.

    Like

  2. Having blogged about being in “flow,” “letting go,” and “being open to possibilities,” I hear and agree with you – loud and clear, Don.

    “She” already has the freedom and space in which to allow surprises to flourish. It is we who stifle of constrain the opportunities.

    Like

  3. safia says:

    How very wise you are, Don. A lovely post to read this morning. I think such mellowness only comes with maturity. I complain a lot less these days than I did at 30 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’m not so sure Safia – I just struggle along like everyone else, but thank you for your affirming words. As you say, there’s nothing like a maturing mellowness. Kind of adds a touch of Autumn and colour to life. 🙂

      Like

  4. Love this one, Don. Letting go and living in the moment – allowing Life to surprise us sometimes is a great gift we can give ourselves. Relinquishing control on occasion can be empowering and invigorating. Besides, who doesn’t love a surprise on their birthday?

    Like

  5. Don, this was a very timely post for me at this point in my life. I walk a fine line between trying to control my world and allowing my world to control me. Maybe I should give them both a rest.

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    Good message this morning – perhaps the older we get the more we seek to let things be and relax the need to control, at least this is where I am. But those folks who are Type A Drivers may find it very tough to relinquish control – it’s in their dna/personality. Interesting post.

    Like

  7. Forest So Green says:

    Your post is very thoughtful. I enjoyed reading it, Annie

    Like

  8. “Surprise me” is such a perfect response, Don. It’s a simple, basic combination of letting things “be,” but also remaining open, willing to be amused, charmed, touched or appreciative by any act of generosity. I love it! I think I’ve found a wonderful mantra now, and I thank you!

    Like

  9. Don, this is a post I could (and need to) read several times. Now, off I go to reread it…

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

Leave a Reply

