Painting With Words – A Child Soldier

Someone asked me about the “Painting With Words” post – the previous post. In response I’d like to share a brief word of explanation.

I’m sure we all grasp the power and descriptive efficacy of words, so the posts are simply word sketches out of my notebook. They are short and concise expressing the pathos and contradictions of life as I see them. In a sense they are word photographs perceived through that wonderful gift, imagination. I enjoy doing them, and as a tool, they have always helped me to reflect far more deeply on life.

I hope this helps clear up the mystery. 🙂

_______________________________________

A Child Soldier

Camouflaged and leaning against a dilapidated doorpost, he drew deeply  on his cigarette and defiantly blew smoke in to the air. His sunglasses glinted in the sun, and like a barbaric necklace, an ammunition belt hung around his neck. He was just a child, but menacingly dangerous.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Life, Painting With Words, Poetic Imagination, Prose, Spirituality, Warfare and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Painting With Words – A Child Soldier

  1. nrhatch says:

    I enjoy your word sketches.

    Like

  2. Very vivid, especially the “barbaric necklace”–I could see that so clearly it almost ached.
    When I teach the workshop on writing for greeting card submissions, the hardest thing for most of the participants is learning that you do NOT include pictures, drawings, photographs, etc. Everything is words. Not just the messages on the cover and the inside of the cards, but the description of possible cover art, too. Everything is words. That’s what makes it such a great activity for other writing.
    So I love your “painting with words.”

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Marylin. You make such an interesting point. It’s quite a challenge to use words in such a way without backing them up with a picture or image. What I find fascinating is to be able to imagine the scene, to see it with the mind’s eye, and then to describe it as best you can with the right words. Not easy and I so admire those who have that gift. I wonder if our image orientated society is not making us lazy with words. Thanks again for your thoughtful comment.

      Like

  3. ladyfi says:

    Vivid and descriptive -as well as a little frightening.

    Like

  4. “Painting with words” is an expression I used to use with pupils to help them understand about writing from their imagination. Love how you use it too. The image in my head from these words is horrific, the boy soldier with his ‘necklace’ of death……

    Like

Leave a Reply

