Absurd Belief.

The other day I watched our national rugby side pray for their game against Wales. I’d love to know what they were praying for. Judging from the little prayer responses made every time they scored, it was likely they were praying to God to give them victory over their opponents, which they ultimately got.

Whatever it was I must say that I find it deeply disturbing that God was more interested in a rugby match than what was about to happen in the Philippines. Then to talk of that shocking disaster as a punishment from God just boggles the mind and heart.

The great fourteenth century Christian mystic, Meister Eckhart, used to pray, “O’ God rid me of God.” I can understand that, especially in the context of some profoundly warped ideas of the divine – however you understand the term.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Discernment, Life, Religion, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Absurd Belief.

  1. darrelhoff says:

    If they were praying for victory, that would be silly. But to thank God for the ability to play. That’s another thing.
    I like to think God is everywhere From the Philippines to the rugby…

    Like

  2. tomsimard says:

    Yes, it is absurd.
    It does, however, point out the way in which we as people for whatever reason believe God is or at least should be on our side. I’m reminded of the Dylan song:
    http://www.bobdylan.com/us/songs/god-our-side

    Like

  3. Hudson Howl says:

    Am not buying this and don’t take this the wrong, as it is not my intention to disagree, or even input a belief of any kind……but why blame a god, why inject God was more interested in a rugby match than the shit kick’n the people took in the Philippines were subjected to. Your reaction is out frustration, that I get and share. There is no god or perhaps there is we don’t know nor am I sure if I should even care, when a family member is seen paddling back to shore with the body of a loved one floating behind -with the intent to bury and find closure. Dealing with the aftermath wears on the spirit, whether were there or sitting on the lines agonizing over the tragedy hard not to feel frustrated, even harder not attach blame.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hudson, I think you missed my point. I was certainly not blaming God or in any way trying to attach blame; I was simply bringing to the fore those absurd perceptions of God people have. Over and over again I have heard people mention how God has intervened and enabled them to sell their homes, sell their cars, find parking spaces, win rugby games etc., and yet refuse to see the inconsistency of such a perception with, for instance, seemly no divine intervention in the the killing of six million Jewish people or the Philippines disaster and the many other tragic events that go well beyond the selling of homes and being provided with parking spaces. I was simply showing up an absurdity in certain forms of belief.

      That tragic and terrible picture you give at the end of your comment affirms what I was trying to say. Hope this helps

      Like

  4. sefeniak says:

    The word “warped” stands out for me. Says it all.

    Like

  5. As a literature teacher who often teamed with history and sociology teachers so we could combine the literature of a time or place with its history and sociology, I hate to to tell you about the specific prayers offered by both sides during wars. Whoever won, of course, believed it was by Divine Intention. And since history is written by the victors, the next step was to speak for God and tell why the losers had been punished. As humans, we reach conclusions that serve us best.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Isn’t it so tragic Marylin? What amuses me is that people seem to know more of what goes on in the divine mind than what goes on in the mind of their pets. I can just imagine the nature of those prayers. Thanks Marylin.

      Like

  6. Some time ago I nominated your blog to the Super Sweet Blogging Award. I have been so busy I never got around to tell you. But there it is – and it’s well deserved! http://munchow.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/one-for-the-blog-community/

    Like

  7. Don, I think that if one is going to pray for victory, it would be best served to pray for victory over our own selves so that we can love our neighbours as we ought to on this planet so rife with need. Living in an earthquake zone makes me not take safety for granted – the ‘big one’ could come anytime… nature is not tame.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    • Don says:

      Lovely insight Wendy. Thank you. I can’t imagine living in a zone like that. Can’t be easy living with that kind of uncertainty. Just to say again I found those tree images of yours so good.

      Like

      • I rarely think about earthquakes until we get an occasional little shake. All minor, so far, in my lifetime. I sure understand the repulsion people have to so much of the ‘religious’ stuff going on. As a Christian, I am embarrassed at my own hypocrisy often enough… never mind what is going on around me. As always, I appreciate your thought provoking topics.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Thank you for sharing, Wendy. Admire your courage.

        Like

  8. Pingback: Be Still And Know That I Am God | Spirit Lights The Way

  9. I so echo these thoughts.

    Like

  10. cindy knoke says:

    I knew a mom who used to pray with her kids for parking spaces. I was like, don’t you think God might have better things to do?

    Like

Leave a Reply

