A Chapel

IMG_30.2

This is a shot I took of the altar area of a chapel in England. Apart from the sheer beauty of it, I was struck by the colours and the marvellous perpendiculars and horizontals in the image.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Beauty, inspiration, Life, Photography, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Chapel

  1. What a beautiful picture, Don. It reminds me of a scene out of a movie on the Tudors, and the angels in the upper corner are wonderful.

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    While I’m not a fan of organized religion . . . they did create some splendid places for meditation. 😀

    Like

  3. Forest So Green says:

    What is the age of this place? Obviously built by master craftsmen.

    Like

  4. ptero9 says:

    Wow, a feast for the eyes Don! I do love the traditional architecture of the church.
    I work at a monastery and recently my co-workers and I were given a tour of the church by one of the monks. He had us stand in the choir stalls and look down at the floor where we immediately noticed the worn marks in the ceramic tile flooring from the monks shoes. You had to see them to believe what they looked like. The tile patterns were smeary, not worn. Made me think of how many times a monk had stood there, chanting the psalms, 7 times each day.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Debra. Love what you say. It’s amazing how the very history of a place is found in the signs of human activity etched into the structure itself. I’ve always been fascinated by ancient steps and the indentations in them left by the thousands of feet that have used them. We have a monastery close to us with the same kind of thing. Am I being a bit nosey by asking you what you do at the monastery? Thanks for your comment Debra.

      Like

      • ptero9 says:

        I work in the Development office and manage the database. The monastery is Benedictine and they operate a seminary, so we raise funds for the monastery, their retreat house, library, and the seminarians.
        It’s an amazing job and place to work. There are seminarians from about 7 or 8 different countries, and the staff is also very diverse, which might surprise some people as it did me.
        In the Development office alone there is a practicing Buddhist, an Eastern Orthodox, an atheist, a few non-affiliated Christians and me, the perpetual spiritual explorer who has practiced and left more religions than I care to admit. I guess I am good at joining, not good at sticking around. 🙂

        Like

      • Don says:

        Appreciate you sharing that Debra. Your work certainly sounds challenging. Diversity is such a gift, difficult, but a gift, and to be able to work in it can be so challenging and insightful. The fact that this diversity is set within a Christian context, which often doesn’t easily deal with it, sounds so good. I suppose it’s the Benedictine ethos that enables this to happen. Thanks again Debra for sharing this and thank you for your marvellous blog.

        Like

  5. Kathy Marsden says:

    I’m always aware and moved by the thought of all the prayers said over the years in such a place, so can feel a connection, but prefer nature for my own times of reflection. Love what PTERO9 shared!

    Like

  6. Theo Coggin says:

    Magnificently contemplative.

    Like

  7. Hudson Howl says:

    Clarity of perspective, clean lines -silent serenity. The colour tones -reds and browns come off richer than the gold, it seems. Good shtufffs, I often forget to take pictures when I go into such places.

    Like

  8. Beautiful lines in this chapel…you did a stunning job in capturing it.

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    They really knew how to build churches in those days! Lovely lines indeed.

    Like

  10. Shweta says:

    Beautiful picture. It must have been fun to just sit there and observe the art, the lines, those horizontals & perpendiculars.

    Like

Leave a Reply

