Home

birdhouse-71507_640Home! It’s a beautiful word rich in meaning and repose. Who can ever forget Stephen Spielberg’s ET, that wonderful little creature with his long and poignant finger pointing up in to the skies and his deep yearning expressed in that one word, “Hommmme! Hommmme!.”

As I stood on our front porch yesterday evening, with the homely aroma of cooking food permeating the air, I watched the Hadedas squawking loudly and returning home to roost in a small clump of trees down in the garden. Also the gate to our complex kept on opening and closing as people wearily returned home from a hard day’s work seeking rest and repose.

The whole scene touched me deeply and I was overcome by a wonderful sense of home, that place of shelter, belonging and rest, that place where we can fully and safely be ourselves. A sudden and deep gratitude for my home swept through me and I grasped in a new way the meaning of that little phrase – there’s no place like home. Then, in an act of meta, my heart and mind went out to those in all the disaster areas of the world whose homes lay in heaps of rubble before them. How do we even begin to grasp the anguish they’re going through?

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Nature, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Home

  1. I think that, for one who has a real home, to lose it is to lose a part of oneself.

    Like

  2. Terry says:

    Thank you Don, I loved that. Its so true – and home can be anywhere – where your family are and where you feel rested and completely at ease.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Even worse than the loss of bricks and mortar, my heart goes out to those who live in spaces where they don’t feel safe ~ women who live with abusive partners, children who are neglected and abused by the people who should be caring for them, animals raised on factory farms or in puppy mills.

    No wonder E.T. was anxious to leave here. 😐

    Like

  4. ptero9 says:

    The house I currently live in with my husband is not very big, it’s old, and is a constant remodeling project. But it’s very cozy to me. We have lived there 11 years, the longest I have lived anywhere since my childhood home on Long Island.
    I love the time I spend there and am grateful to my husband for convincing me that although owning a home is more work, it is better than being an apartment dweller.
    It would be devastating to lose a home for any reason, and my heart goes out to all those who experience an unwanted loss and to all those who cannot afford a home.
    Thanks for the reminders Don!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Debra. Your home certainly sounds like a place you cherish. I can identify with you. We have also been on the move most of our lives. For the first time we feel absolutely settled where we are now and that’s a good feeling.

      Like

  5. sefeniak says:

    Thank you. After all, home is where the heart is.

    Like

  6. Shweta says:

    True Don, there is no place like home. I really like the way you have described the feelings as you stood at your front porch….that homely aroma, sounds, visuals are some peculiar things that makes a home ‘home’!

    Like

  7. ladyfi says:

    So beautifully written.

    Like

  8. josna says:

    Thank you, Don. As I read, I was thinking that your paean to Home was beautiful; and then I read the last two sentences, and realized that without that ending, it might still have felt perfect, but might have left a faint aftertaste of dissonance or unreality. The feeling of homecoming can’t be properly appreciated without the recognition that so many of us on this planet have lost our homes, live in a more-or-less permanent state of dislocation, or will never attain that feeling of perfect ease. Acknowledging this truth makes us all the more grateful for that feeling of homeliness when it graces us with a visit.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Josna. As you have said I’m not sure what it must feel like having never “attained that feeling of perfect ease.” So well put. Difficult to imagine.

      Like

  9. Oh, Don, what a beautiful and heartfelt post. Those of us still with a home are so lucky. My heart, like yours, goes out to those who have lost more than is imaginable.

    Like

  10. Don, like you and so many others I find my thoughts wandering overseas as I go about my normal and intact home life. It is, indeed , so hard to fathom such deep pain and suffering. In the midst of the chaos , I hope there are courageous ones who lift others up around them who have lost even more than they have. Thank you for helping us to truly appreciate what we have at this very moment.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

  11. We are truly blessed when we have a place to call home. Just yesterday I visited an agency that provides transitional housing to the homeless. It had 18 single bedroom units. The housing is very temporary but all I could think about was what happens after they leave this safe haven. Many were battered women with small children. My heart broke. So yes we need to appreciate what we have no matter how humble. Thanks for your post and for reading my posts on Poemattic. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Melba for your thoughtful comment. I can’t even begin to imagine how those people you describe must feel. To feel so dislocated must be deeply troubling. I have much admiration for those who work with the homeless. Thank you also for what you share on your blog. I’m always touched by what you write and so enjoy visiting your blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

