Painting With Words – A Perpetual Bow

pww1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Identity, inspiration, Life, Men and Women, Painting With Words, Poetic Imagination, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Painting With Words – A Perpetual Bow

  1. I love the play on words with bow, be it a bow tied that keeps her there, or a bow to the ground that keeps her tethered or is it the bowing of a violin, the sounds of which she is giving in to……

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you SaIly. I so appreciate your insight. It’s always such a good feeling when someone is prepared to ponder so deeply on what one has written. Thank you for that gift.

      Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Yay! I love it when people decide to distance themselves from bullies.

    Like

  3. Interesting to me, Don, the different lens through which we see and interpret. I didn’t align bow with the weapon. Rather, I thought of the act of bowing – as in respect to/with the Japanese. And for the woman who had had enough of bowing, she was ruminating hari-kari.

    Like

    • Don says:

      It is interesting Eric. For me it is more of a constant and destructive form of submission. That’s what I had in mind, but I’m quite happy with people seeing it in their way. Thank you.

      Like

  4. katy says:

    That really is a superb word picture Don. One can pick up the fear and stress (and resolve) in just a few short sentences. I read the bow as being a bow and arrow. She was the string stretched tight almost to snapping point so he could fire his destructive killing arrows!!

    Like

    • Don says:

      As Eric has said Katy, it’s so interesting to see the different interpretations put on the word picture. Yours is another and is so intriguing. Thank you.

      Like

  5. Shweta says:

    Honestly, my mind feels too naive to understand this….or the deeper meaning hidden in this ‘collection of words’. But like always, I enjoyed reading the comments that the blogger friends offered:) and with that I try to understand it too.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Shweta. Your way of understanding it is just as valid as everybody else’s. Just be easy about it. So glad you read the comments, and let me say that building on your blog was superb. I’ve never seen a building in the shape of a Lotus flower. Quite amazing.

      Like

      • Shweta says:

        Thanks for your encouraging words Don. Appreciate it. I am so glad that you liked the pictures of that building 🙂 I was also amazed when I saw that structure and wondered how admirable the aerial view would have been 🙂

        Like

  6. Depending on which you use–bow, as in the action, or bow, as in the tie on a package–there’s a very vivid imaginary scene that forms in the first sentences.
    Brava! for her deciding the time for bowing was over.

    Like

Leave a Reply

