A Walk Through The Bush

IMG_2166.1

We were in the bush again on Sunday and came across this little scene. It was calling out to be photographed. I’ve taken shots like these quite often. For me these little scenes of light and dark always accentuate the mystery of the bush. It’s almost as if you can hear the dark and the light. It may sound a bit crazy to you, but to me they both have a sound which is uniquely their own, a bit like Laurens Van Der Post saying, that when you look up at the twinkling stars on a dark African night, you can actually hear them. I understand what he means.

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Beauty, Contemplation, Nature, Photography, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Walk Through The Bush

  1. darrelhoff says:

    This quote came to mind:

    “You – you alone will have the stars as no one else has them…In one of the stars I shall be living. In one of them I shall be laughing. And so it will be as if all the stars were laughing, when you look at the sky at night…You – only you – will have stars that can laugh.”
    ― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, The Little Prince

    Like

  2. The lushness of Nature is simultaneously comforting and mysterious. I agree that there is a sound difference occurring – such wonder is taking place around us at all times! Wonderful post again, Don.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Verdant splendor! And I love the idea of hearing the stars.

    Like

  4. That’s a lovely thought and I’m delighted that Darrelhof quoted from one of my favourite books, one which I wrote about a while ago.
    We didn’t ever see the bush green like that, only dry and yellowy brown where we were – but that was in March. 🙂

    Like

  5. Shweta says:

    I can very well understand what you mean Don, when you say “its almost as if you can hear…..”. Not many of of us have that eye to observe nature or things around us so keenly. It’s great that you are able to do so and express it too.

    Like

  6. Lush is not something we often see or experience in the High Desert, Don, yet shading does some wondrous things with hues of brown and the indigenous growth here. Yours is a nice capture.

    Like

  7. Hudson Howl says:

    Hope this gets through, this thing is misbehaving.

    No it doesn’t sound crazy, at all. If it were crazy, then much of art, music, literature and philosophical musings was the doing of crazy people. If it is crazy, then crazy is my kind of sanity.

    Like

  8. Vivid, brilliant, glorious…yes, it certainly was calling out to be photographed, and I’m glad you responded. Well done.

    Like

  9. There is definitely something mysterious hiding in the shades. I love the contrast between the light yellow-green leaves and the blue-green shades. A beautiful image.

    Like

Leave a Reply

