London Shop Windows

You cannot walk down Oxford street in London without being struck by the immense creativity of the shop window artists. I wish I could just post all the images I took with my phone. But here are two from the John Lewis Store. The turkeys are magnificent, created with small pieces of  furniture and an array of cloth. The reindeer was created with a couple of vacuum cleaners. A feast for the eyes and the soul.

May I also take this opportunity of wishing you all, and your families, a merry and wonderful Christmas, and thank you for taking the time  throughout the year to read this blog. I have deeply appreciated your presence.

20131222_113221

20131222_113103

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, imagination, inspiration, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to London Shop Windows

  1. Wonderful. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. tomsimard says:

    You’ve got a great blog, Don, and I’m looking forward to more in the coming year.
    Have a very merry Christmas!.

    Like

  3. What delightful pictures, Don. My one visit to London was in the summer, not at Christmas, but your posts definitely make me hungry to return. A Very Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Like

  4. Fun shots. 🙂 Joyous Christmas wishes returned, Don!

    Like

  5. ptero9 says:

    Thanks for all you do here Don! It’s been fun getting to know you this year. Happy Christmas and best wishes in the New Year.
    Debra

    Like

  6. katy says:

    How very creative Don. I too have enjoyed your presence, your way of seeing things and your
    enjoyment in the wonders around us. Its quite contagious. Health, wealth and happiness to
    all who you you love and care for.

    Like

  7. Shweta says:

    Merry X-mas to you & to your family 🙂 wishing loads of happiness, love & care in the new year ! and thank you for sharing your views here…always look forward to reading your posts Don:)

    Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    Very clever! Hope you had a Christmas filled with Merry and Bright!

    Like

  9. It is really incredible! But must admit, my favorite, always will be the Liberty windows! Spectacular and glamorous!

    Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    Very creative indeed! Wishing you a wonderful holiday.

    Like

  11. Don says:

    Thank you Fiona. Hope you are enjoying yours.

    Like

  12. darrelhoff says:

    That is excellent. Thanks Don for a year of inspiration!

    Like

  13. Don, what creativity you have discovered in these windows. Hope your Christmas was a blessed one indeed!

    Like

  14. Don says:

    Thanks Laurie. Hope you also had a good Christmas.

    Like

  15. Robert Jones says:

    It is a pleasure to read your blog Don. Happy 2014!

    Like

  16. Don says:

    Thank you Robert as it is for me to read yours.

    Like

  17. Don, this is in reference to Nail Gaiman’s book I quoted in answer to your comment. I don’t know what I was thinking. The title is not Cemetery, but THE GRAVEYARD BOOK. I wanted to correct that in case you decided to look for it. sorry… 😦

    Like

  18. Forest So Green says:

    Hope you have a wonderful 2014 🙂 Annie

    Like

Leave a Reply

