Fireworks and New Year Resolutions

fireworks-80193_150I was watching the firework displays in the different cities around the world and I couldn’t help but think of those resolutions we so glibly make. They’re a bit like fireworks – brief and beautiful illuminations, then, gone as quickly as they appeared. Sad, very sad. I just don’t make them any more. Call me cynical if you like, but that’s the way I feel about them.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Poetic Imagination, wisdom and insight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Fireworks and New Year Resolutions

  1. May your New Year be filled with simple, slow moments that nourish your soul.

    Please join me for SERENDIPITOUS LIVING in the New Year http://wp.me/pP1C5-1f8

    Like

  2. josna says:

    Like Laurie, wishing you sustainable goals, Don, renewed with each breath; unlike fireworks, so showy and wasteful, and so quickly over and done with, leaving only ringing ears and acrid smoke. Once when our son was four, we took him to Disneyland. Never again! There was a big fireworks display in the evening, and it turns out that they have one every single evening. What a waste! Here’s to quiet, steady resolve, to listening to that inner voice, letting that little inner light shine.

    Like

  3. tomsimard says:

    Great comparison between fireworks and our resolutions. Unfortunately they are more often than not just as you describe.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    My resolutions are simple ~ be here now, mindful in the moment. Allow life to unfold.

    Like

  5. Resolutions, like fireworks, are beautiful but brief. But, as our 89-year-old neighbor would say, at least it’s beautiful for awhile. She was an artist until she lost most of her vision, and she has only praise for that brief time of brilliant color–“Better to have it for a glimpse than not at all”–maybe the same is true for resolutions? Could they make us better and brighter, at least for a while?

    Like

  6. Holli says:

    That is a good way to describe them! I am less about making the resolutions and more about focusing on the gifts each day will bring. All the best to you in 2014 and I’m looking forward to reading more of your thoughts. Glad to have found your blog.

    Like

  7. Robert Jones says:

    I agree Don, I don’t make them anymore because my willpower is questionable and then I suffer guilt like you wouldn’t imagine when I break them. Happy New Year mate 🙂

    Like

  8. I don’t make resolutions – they are too much like the fireworks you speak of. Instead, I have set myself some goals to work towards. Much more likely to happen, I think.

    Like

  9. sefeniak says:

    That is not being cinical, that is honesty!

    Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    The time to make a resolution is any time EXCEPT New Year! After all, the ones you make then go in one year and out of the other…

    Like

  11. mselene says:

    I always try to make goals that I know are small enough to keep but big enough to make a difference, instead of resolutions. One year it was making my bed every morning (still holding strong on that one), and I was surprised at how much having a made bed brought up my motivation from day to day.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I think that’s marvellous. The key for me is what you say about goals, small enough to keep, but big enough to make a difference. I love the example you give of making your bed and the effect that has had on your motivation. You’re, it’s the small things that get us going. Thank you for a great comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

