The Relief of Simply Being

A tree is happy to simply express its treeness.

A tree is happy to simply express its treeness.

I was touched by a phrase written by islandrain in her post “Passing Through Copenhagen” which has become for me, since I read it, a kind of  mantra. She wrote, “Relieve the soul by simply being.”  Not sure how you feel about the phrase, but even as I read it, it had a profoundly restful sway over me. I found myself quietly saying it over and over again.

It got me thinking about just how heavy in soul we can become by our constant pretence, competitiveness, false perceptions of ourselves and the many other illusions we carry. To learn to simply be, is not only freeing, but as the phrase says, a wonderful relief.

Thanks islandrain for your gift and reminder.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Identity, inspiration, Life, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, Transformation, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Relief of Simply Being

  1. nrhatch says:

    In the porch, we have a piece of driftwood hanging on the wall. We burned a saying into the wood years ago:

    JUST BE

    Like

  2. Mary says:

    Beautiful post – thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. I like it. I’ll try it a walking meditation mantra. Thanks.

    Like

  4. Holli says:

    Thanks for passing this on. I love it.

    Like

  5. JUST BE is my favorite, but RELIEVE THE SOUL BY SIMPLY BEING is a beautiful extension. Nice reminder, Don.

    Like

  6. Simply being is, truly, so simply accomplished. It just takes some conscious awareness and intentional focus. I’m not sure I can vouch for how it affects one’s soul but I know, first-hand, the ways in which it nurtures the mind, body and heart!

    Like

  7. darrelhoff says:

    As I start reading blogs again for this year… this is an inspiring start. 🙂

    Like

  8. ladyfi says:

    So true! I needed this reminder. And that’s a lovely tree photo too.

    Like

  9. Forest So Green says:

    Great inspiration for the new year, thank you, Annie

    Like

  10. This is such a powerful thought Don, to simply be … in meditation but also, as you say, by casting off they need to be someone we’re not in order to impress and succeed in this very competitive world. I think if we learn to simply be, that will be the greatest success of all.

    Like

  11. Absolutely beautiful. It is worth repeating over and over indeed. And as you said, it has a “profoundly restful sway” over me too. Thank you kindly for sharing this. Gina

    Like

  12. Shweta says:

    I was down with fever and cold, so couldn’t read your posts. It is always a pleasure reading what you share here Don.Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  13. Don, I like the quote a lot. Our culture tends to focus on doing and encourages workaholic tendencies. I am drawn to the idea of ‘being’ with the result of doing from the heart rather than out of compulsion. ‘Being’ speaks peace to me; whereas, doing speaks burden. I love the peaceful place your blog so often takes us to.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

Leave a Reply

