A Rare Sight

file0001621230532We were walking along the beach on Sunday when my wife suddenly exclaimed, “O look, there’s a child eating an apple!” I stopped, wasn’t quite sure of what I was hearing, “So!” I said.

Then it hit me. Nowadays you just don’t see children, or adults for that matter, eating apples; a packet of chips, a carton of fast food, yes, but an apple, that’s as rare as Halley’s comet streaking through the night sky.

So, if you want a good, solid and delightfully natural indictment against our eating habits, there you have it – “O, look, there’s a child eating an apple.”

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Food, Health, Life, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A Rare Sight

  1. That is almost unbelievable! A sad indictment on today’s society.

    Like

  2. tomsimard says:

    It is a shame. And not only nutritionally. I think there’s a dulling of the palate from the excessive amounts of sugar and salt in fast food.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Interesting observation, Don. We eat apples (and oranges, banana, pineapple, watermelon, etc.) . . . but only in the privacy of our own home.

    We don’t want people to think we’re rebelling against the S.A.D. (Standard American Diet) state of affairs. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Holli says:

    I think relatively the same thing when I spot kids outside playing.

    Like

  5. ladyfi says:

    Really – how sad? Kids eat lots of fruit here in Sweden.

    Like

  6. sefeniak says:

    Interesting observation. I must say fruit gets eaten at our house. But maybe not so much in public. If one were to stop and think it takes more energy to eat an apple then a bag of chips so apples are healthier in more ways then one! I will continue to eat my apple a day.

    Like

  7. Interesting isn’t it? We offer fruit, apples and tangerines, when children come trick-or-treating and there are very varied responses to that!
    I agree with Holli’s comment too – we so rarely see kids playing outside now or even walking to and from school.

    Like

  8. Forest So Green says:

    I love apples, now I will be watching to find someone else eating an apple, not too much eating outside at this time of year πŸ™‚ Annie

    Like

  9. My mother’s and grandmother’s theory– “an apple a day keeps the doctor away”–was instilled in all of us. Even today, everyone in our family eats an apple a day, or at least apple slices. But you’re right, mostly everyone eats apple chips or some form that isn’t fresh, and probably not read.

    Like

  10. Ahmed says:

    Apple a day, keeps the doctor away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

