A Misty Morning

London 6.1-17

A Winter’s morning in Colchester.  This very ground felt the weight and scarring of Queen Boudicca’s army in her journey towards her showdown with the Roman garrison stationed at Colchester.  An amazing and tragic story of the rising up of the feminine against oppression and subjugation. In taking the image, I was not only struck by the history, but by these bare trees which to me somehow spoke in to the tragedy of the event. The old Roman wall was just to the left, out of the image.

 

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in history, Nature, Photography, Warfare and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Misty Morning

  1. Winter trees are always beautiful and I like the picture you’ve given me of what took place here so long ago.

    Like

  2. I’m a sucker for winter trees and misty foggy mornings 🙂

    Like

  3. The story of Boudicca…a fascinating one to say the least. It is always such a grounding and surreal feeling to be in a place of historical presence. There is a certain power that is rooted in the space and all that surrounds it. Wonderful images Don, both visual and mental.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Melissa. It is the most amazing story. I suppose quite a bit of it has been mythologised, but I don’t have a problem with that, great events and people always have a mythology that gathers around them. You’re right, I did have a strong sense of historical place and space.

      Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    I’ve never heard of Colchester or Queen Boudicca’s army.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Colchester is the oldest town in England. Very old settlement. Bouddicca was a warrior queen of a strong Celtic tribe called the Iceni. Wonderful story, Nancy.

      Like

  5. I love misty winter mornings, Don, and especially wonderful photographs like this one. How can I learn more about the warrior Queen Bouddicca and her strong Celtic tribe? You’ve set up a fascinating premise.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Marylin. All I’ve done is to google her and have been led to some fascinating links and books that have been written about her. There was also a TV series done on her. I’ve forgotten the name but will try and get it. The author Melvyn Bragg is an authority on her and has written about her and has been interview about her. Just google his name with Boudicca – quite a lot of stuff.

      Like

  6. ladyfi says:

    Wonderful shot – and I just love your description of the history around it.

    Like

  7. Robert says:

    One of my favourite monarchs, I hope you managed a trip to the cathedral Don

    Like

Leave a Reply

