Thinking about Thinking

Image courtesy PixabayThis morning I was thinking about thinking. I wonder if there’s anything more powerful in the universe than our thoughts? Are they not the very building blocks of the reality we create and experience? What we  think we create.

I once again found it sobering to realize, that as the raw stuff of life comes my way, I can only receive and experience it through my own patterns of thought, and that when these patterns are changed, my very reality changes as well.

Perhaps that’s why there can be no greater task undertaken in life than the one that awakens us to our ways of thinking.  Not to be awakened to this means to become vulnerable and closed to the great expansiveness and possibilities of life.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Discernment, inspiration, Life, Transformation, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Thinking about Thinking

  1. Anonymous says:

    I like that phrase Don “Thinking about thinking” I just HAVE to have some thinking time and even a thinking place, where I can let my thoughts fly away and roam around and come back to me bringing inspiration and ideas bigger than I am normally
    capable of. Time to just sit and think is not a luxury, its a necessity isn,t it?

    Like

    • Don says:

      So true Katy. I do believe that we need that time and place, as you say, to reflect on our thinking. Without it we become the victims of our thoughts blown around like a leaf in the wind.

      Like

  2. Ese' s Voice says:

    I think therefore I am… You made my thoughts wander, Don…

    Like

  3. We have to be open to even think about our thoughts, let alone change them. But it is something we need to do all the time as life shows us better ways.
    Thoughtful (pun intended) post. 🙂

    Like

  4. Tim Attwell says:

    “Perhaps … there can be no greater task undertaken in life than the one that awakens us to our ways of thinking…” Absolutely right! Thank you Don.

    Like

  5. Robert says:

    So profound Don

    Like

  6. ladyfi says:

    I guess you could say we are what we think… well, very often, but not always.

    Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    This is SO TRUE! When we aren’t mindful of the thoughts we think, we are at the mercy of those thoughts.

    When we change our thoughts, we change our life.

    Your post reminded me of this quote:

    “It is interesting to me that people don’t see any connection between their misery and their complaints ~ their feeling of being a victim; the feeling that everyone is doing something to them. It’s amazing. How many times has this connection been pointed out in the dharma talks? How many? And yet because of our fear we won’t look.”

    ~ Charlotte Joko Beck, Everyday Zen, Love & Work

    Like

  8. Lyn Stephenson says:

    Isn’t it marvellous that we can think about thinking, or think about our thoughts. Who is the thinker, and who is thinking the thoughts?

    Like

  9. And now you know, Don, why some parents of teenagers were not that thrilled with reading and writing assignments that required their children to “think about thinking.” Thinking can cause all kinds of questions and more searches and questions. Dangerous stuff, this thinking about thinking can be!

    Like

  10. I used to worry about worrying. Seriously. Now your prompt has me worrying about what I am thinking. Or not. More often I am comfortable with simply allowing and being. It’s thinking that shifts me into analytical mode. And then elements like control and planning and strategy want to be engaged. Before I know it, overwhelm can creep in. Now look where I am, Don. Or by choice, am not. 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Eric. Enjoyed your response. A lot to think about there (excuse the pun 🙂 . I find that through meditation I am able to allow the observer in me to be detached from my thoughts and simply to observe them. In observing them I try to discern their power as being destructive or life-giving. I don’t judge them, I simply let them be. Somehow this becoming conscious and seeing begins, only begins, to release me from destructive mind traps. I try not to get caught up in the things you mention. They are sometimes the very things I observe. When I do this I have a strong sense of simply allowing and being. I don’t experience it as a grunt and groan thing. 🙂 Thank you for your thoughtful comment, Eric – appreciated.

      Like

  11. Anonymous says:

    Is that the definition of meditation Don? Observing your thoughts, while being detached from them. If so I have been unknowingly meditating, something I have resisted because of negative connotations I had of it.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Sadly, meditation has been maligned by what I can only call religiously misguided people. That observing dimension is an essential part of meditation. If you’ve been doing it unknowingly – well, isn’t that marvelous. 🙂

      Like

  12. Anonymous says:

    is that the definition of meditation Don? Observing your thoughts while being detached from them. If so I have been meditating – something I have kind of resisted. Its like taking your thoughts out, looking at them and saying either yes or no or maybe. I have called it “day dreaming” Very thought provoking!!!!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Katy, I’m certainly no meditative guru, but for me I see it as an essential part of the practice of meditation. Others may not, but there are other dimensions to meditation as well. We can chat about it when we get together again if you like. But as I say, I’m just a beginner.

      Like

  13. totsymae1011 says:

    Yeah, we have to think about out thoughts. This is how we grow and expand out ways of thinking. Can’t over-analyze though. That tends to give me a headache.

    Like

  14. mariyaah says:

    Our thoughts are indeed the building blocks of the reality we create but in my case overthinking may suppress the way we normally tend to act because I think a lot,
    While thinking about the same thoughts last week I wrote this post
    http://sonotsimple.wordpress.com/2014/01/29/as-bitter-as-i-am/

    Like

Leave a Reply

