A Cold Afternoon Along The Thames

flame lily 6.11

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Life, Photography, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Cold Afternoon Along The Thames

  1. nrhatch says:

    Fantastic! The curve of the walk, the perfectly space lamp posts, etc. Great composition.

    Like

  2. I agree, a beautiful composition.

    Like

  3. Now that is a wonderful picture, Don! I love the lights, the scenery in the background. And if this is a cold afternoon, it still looks so much warmer than a cold afternoon in Colorado right now, especially since the people in the picture aren’t bundled up beyond all recognition. Maybe that’s another reason I like this scene so much!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks for that Marylin. I have to ask you: are the skies in Colorado as wide and spacious and blue as we see in photos?
      The film ” The Horse whisperer” comes to mind, apart from other images I’ve seen. 🙂

      Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    Very nice! London is a fascinating city!

    Like

  5. surprisebjg says:

    Beautiful photo! the lovely lights gives this picture special atmosphere.

    Like

  6. Hudson Howl says:

    Just when I was getting over my jealousy, you just had to give another poke…….bloody hell

    Like

    • Don says:

      My friend, looking at your images, you’ve got nothing to be jealous about. Mine pale in to nothing. 🙂

      Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        I have only been to London, England twice. And that was a long, long, long time ago. The camera lens simply falls head over heels for that city. Just the other day I dragged the camera out that would have been caring with me at the time -an Olympus OM-1N -it was my knock around camera till ’98 an the digital age and the beginning of the death of film stock.

        Over my shoulder, as they always are whist I sit at my desk, is a couple in a park not far from where you took this picture. It was pouring rain. Each with enormous umbrellas open. It was May, over head an cosmos of white blossoms. Around their feet a couple dozen street wise punks -they were feeding the pigeons. The frame captured him tossing seeds down, at same time looking into her eyes and she looking into his. Still in love. They had to be well into their eighties. I said to the camera, “do you remember taking that photograph”. I clicked the shutter release, the camera responded “I do, I do, I do”. We owe a lot to our cameras. They provide us with memories for a life time. I look at your images, I think you have a ‘pretty ‘ healthy relationship with your camera as well.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Loved reading this comment Hudson. So enjoyed what you said about our cameras, and that “I do, I do,” thing brought a smile to my face. All so true. Beautiful story about that couple. Yes, I love mine. Again, thanks for such a marvellous comment.

        Like

  7. darrelhoff says:

    love that dreamy cold weather. 🙂

    Like

  8. ladyfi says:

    I just love those lampposts!

    Like

  9. totsymae1011 says:

    Beautiful, calm image. I could use a seat on one of those benches.

    Like

  10. Shweta says:

    Beautiful picture.Love the golden- glowing lamp posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

