Discerning Your Purpose In Life

141651.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Identity, imagination, inspiration, Life, Poetic Imagination, wisdom and insight, Wisdom Cartoons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Discerning Your Purpose In Life

  1. josna says:

    I love this! Delightful, down to the expression on the roast chicken’s “face”! Don’t we all look enviously at others and wish we could do what they do. In my case, I’m still wondering what I should be doing with my life! And meanwhile, of course, my life is being lived, whether or not I understand my purpose.
    To be more serious, though, some people seem to have a vocation in life and to be very clear early on about what it is. While others–myself included–never quite seem to discern their purpose.
    More cartoons–I love ’em!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks for your great comment Josna. I think standing back and constantly asking what our purpose is, is not a constructive thing to do. When you say, in the meanwhile my life is being lived, that’s it. I wonder if purpose doesn’t unfold as we live and engage with life, but I must say, like you, I also admire those who seem to be pretty clear about what they should be doing. It’s a nice place to be in life.

      Like

  2. ptero9 says:

    In this situation there are clearly advantages to be a fork πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Well illustrated, Don! Wishing to be other than we are won’t transform our tines into a blade.

    Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    A braintoon, holy moly Don! And one that offers a multitude of interpretations.

    Discerning one’s purpose in life or having aspirations -I try to be an enabler and a believer of rights; why can’t the fork aspire to cut? Perhaps that is the fork’s purpose in life -to break the mold, to shed the labels -a Helen Gurley Fork. Or is this a soon to be ‘the spoon ran away with the dish storyline’ and perhaps the resulting relation could produce bouncing baby ‘snork’?

    Hard to distinguish one’s purpose in life, when the canvas of a life is unfinished. Maybe it only comes to light postmortem?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Can the fork become a knife and break the mold? Good question Calvin. I’m not sure. The one thing I do know is that I don’t prescribe to the truth that “you can become anything you want, or you can do anything you want.”

      I think in some lives purpose is clearly defined and single-minded, while in others it’s more a collection of actions taken together and expressed in our living. As you say it’s not an easy thing to distinguish. That’s also been my experience and I suppose purpose also changes.

      Love the spoon ran away with dish line. Maybe the fork should run away with the knife and learn how to cut. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for your comment Calvin

      Like

  5. Carolyn Page says:

    Don, I think the only one who truly knows his/her purpose (in your cartoon) is the chicken..! Mind you; I hope our purpose is more multi-tiered than hers.

    Like

  6. Some days I’m the knife, some days I’m the fork but most days I’m the chicken πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Shweta says:

    Very powerful thought Don. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  8. ladyfi says:

    Ha ha – very nice! And thought-provoking.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Sacred Spaces 416– The measuring line | Sacred Spaces

Leave a Reply

