Insights Into the Horizon

IMG_9342.123

I’ve always been drawn to the horizon and even as a child I remember standing on the beach and looking out across to where sea and sky came together in a blue and hazy distance. Nothing has changed. I still love doing this. This was a moment I caught on camera.

The horizon for me has been a constant reminder and symbol of “the more that is beyond,” the temporary boundary seeking at all times to give way to new spaces and new horizons, especially to the adventurous.

Both defining and beautifully flexible, this great outer horizon never stops beckoning and challenging those inner horizons that reside and dwell within us all.ย The question is, how best do we respond to this beckoning?

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Nature, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Sea, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Insights Into the Horizon

  1. Hudson Howl says:

    There is no denying the pull in this sunrise it’s dark sea, blacken rocky shore, the bleeding dawn light -true splendour exemplified. A wild animal on the attack, in slow motion -calculated and deliberate. Even though I was expecting a sunrise when I open this, it still had the power to set me back.

    I have to agree with you, though I have to admit as well, I often remind myself not to be in love with a sunrise or sunset as quickly as I once would have. That not all things are beautiful in quite the same way as the sun transitioning the horizon. There is beautiful in the ugly as well.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Your first line in your comment is so descriptive and capturing, Calvin – “bleeding dawn light” – wow!

      So true in what you say, the beautiful can be in the ugly as well.

      “I often remind myself not to be in love with a sunrise or sunset as quickly as I once would have.” I’m intrigued. Why?

      Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        You had to ask. There is a short answer and a long answer. You get the short answer. It came clear to me early on in life, your either a sunrise and or a sunset, if your not then your not much, an assumption of the ‘haves’……that’s the ugly side of beauty, it works both ways.

        To add to the short answer, you might recall this http://www.beyondplumcreek.com/shtufffs/?p=1397

        Like

      • Don says:

        I get you. Maybe the simple “noonness” of who we are is the answer.

        I loved that post of yours. Some magnificent lines there – “Dammed are the Delirious encoded into a impervious moonlit beach at nightTangled in a ten gig graveyard of forgotten love songs” Now that’s superb.

        Like

  2. Beautiful photo and wonderful words. A keeper! Thanks Don. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Read and viewed this earlier, Don. Coming back to it now that the pondering has quieted. And I find it easier to comment on the simplicity of the setting, be it the photo or the scene in person. My intellect was inclined to reply in some philosophical fashion. And then my heart suggested, why not just be with and appreciate the image and moment, rather than try to reach within for some magical meaning. I’m at peace with being one of your contrarian followers. ๐Ÿ™‚ Lovely capture!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Glad you decided simply to be with it Eric. The intellect can be troublesome sometimes ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy and admire you for being a contrarian follower. Makes life interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Don, this is a stunning photograph. “…somewhere, beyond the sea…” is a whole new world of fantastic colors and dreams. Beautiful.

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful, Don. Your words remind me of a poem I wrote looking out over the Chesapeake Bay ~ the largest estuary in the U.S.

    Last stanza:

    Weโ€™re not alone, how could we be?
    Where land and sky greet the sea

    If you’re interested:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/07/02/where-water-reaches-out-to-sky/

    Like

    • Don says:

      I read the poem Nancy. So good. Didn’t know you were a poet as well – more and more surprises. I could just see the scene in my mind’s eye as I read your words.

      I must tell you a story about Chesapeake Bay. I remember as a young guy I got hold of a copy of Chesapeake Bay by James Michener. I loved the book and promised myself that I would one day visit Chesapeake Bay. Well it took a long time but eventually it happened. I had the chance to go and i even crossed the Chesapeake bay bridge from the Maryland side. Wonderful. And then you won’t believe it but about 10 years later something happened and I went back and had another visit. What an incredible estuary. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • nrhatch says:

        That’s a terrific book. We lived on the banks for the Chesapeake for 8 years. Fabulous sunsets. Glad that you made your pilgrimage not once, but twice!

        Like

    • Don says:

      By the way Nancy, I read his “The Drifters” as well; in fact I think I read virtually all of Michener’s books. They had a profound influence over me. They were always so thick but somehow that never mattered as far as I was concerned. They were sweeping sagas, a bit like the great horizon. Maybe he’s the one who gave me my love for the horizon. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hell, I got on to a roll here – sorry about that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        I’ve made the same pilgrimage to Chesapeake, though not because of Michener . In the midst of one of the hottest summers on record the bay did not seem what I hoped, then, it was one evening in a secluded spot sequestered from the drone of people that I sat for hours quietly watching a sunset being swept out to see -the place is magic. Perhaps that is why, this estuary has always been sanctuary, a safe haven from storms and war over the centuries -and why people sit on the shore or at the stern to take comfort.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Must have been quite a moment Calvin. I love the idea of it having a kind of history of being a sanctuary. It’s a feeling I also got when I was there. Beautiful place.

        Like

      • nrhatch says:

        Wonderful comments, both of you. The horizon beckons us to look without and within while watching the sun “being swept out to sea.”

        Like

      • Don says:

        Lol – did we really say that? Now that’s good. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • nrhatch says:

        Perhaps I paraphrased while reading “between the lines.” ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

  6. darrelhoff says:

    I really like that. Warner’s always makes me smile.

    Like

  7. There is indeed something very magic about the horizon. And you have captured this magic in your picture. Beautiful light and colours – an encouragement to find out what is beyond.

    Like

  8. Perhaps, that deep hearted awareness of the horizon…the beauty, the wonder, the yearning as we view it… perhaps just the viewing and yearning aligns and quickens our journey in that direction?

    Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    Wonderful shot! Horizons are so full of possibilities…

    Like

  10. The most incredible photo of a sea and sky I’ve ever seen Don. Masterful! Thank you for sharing!! And the longing it evokes welcomes us inward towards those ‘inner horizons’. Your wonderful question for us to ponder has me thinking that to meditate on the glory of nature and the boundless universe is a wise way to respond to the never changing horizons of nature and within. Blessings, Gina

    Like

  11. Shweta says:

    Amazing shot Don.you have beautifully captured the colours in the sky. Its indeed a complete shot in itself

    Like

Leave a Reply

