Nature’s Conscience

bird 2.2

I wonder to what degree nature, apart from its human dimension, has a conscience, or is it all only instinctual? It’s a question that often plagues me.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Life, Nature, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight, Wisdom Cartoons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Nature’s Conscience

  1. ladyfi says:

    I think it’s mainly run on instinct… But of course, animals do have feelings as well as instincts.

    Like

  2. ptero9 says:

    Very good question! I would guess that having, or acting out of a conscience comes with the human perception of time that allows for the capacity to over-ride what is instinctual. Perhaps there are degrees of conscience and humans have an exaggerated sense of this?

    Like

    • Don says:

      I go with you on that Debra. I do feel there are degrees. If we believe in the unity of all things then the growth of conscience has to be wider than simply the human perspective. Something must be happening in all of nature. Thank you.

      Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    You might enjoy this:

    Like

  4. Very good question, Don, and I enjoyed reading the responses so far. I had a philosophy professor once who said that conscience, like innocence or guilt, is determined by society’s laws over entire groups, but individually by time, place, act…and whether, in that moment , you do the act or receive the act. Everything is interpreted by immediate cause and effect.

    Like

  5. Shweta says:

    Interesting question Don and like always I enjoy reading the comments…

    Like

  6. I think maybe I was the only one expanding the nature question to “our natures”–the nature of humans to have a conscience or not, etc.–but indirectly I guess it could make the stretch to Nature with a cap. N, and how our excuses affect what we do to Nature. But that’s a stretch, too…

    Like

  7. Hudson Howl says:

    It has a Conscience, just more evolved than ours. That’s my story and am sticking with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

