Still Water

1

Meetings with ourselves in the stillness of reflection can be some of the most healing moments experienced. I took this in the Drakensberg and it so reminded me of inner stillness and reflection, the seeing of ourselves in the clear light of truth.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Beauty, Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Nature, Photography, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Still Water

  1. nrhatch says:

    Oh, my . . . my post for tomorrow morning is “Reflections on a Still Pond.” How’s that for great timing?

    A still pond provides a clearer reflection.

    Like

  2. cindy knoke says:

    so lovely! bravo~

    Like

  3. josna says:

    Isn’t it interesting that the reflection actually looks clearer than the actual scene?

    Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    The image -pastoral. The thought, rather spacial and sculptural if you think about it. The line between, not the line that separates, one subject to another another (which appear identical an one in the same), are in fact two different realities. It is that ultra thin line between the two we find the truth. I have heard it called the ‘line of distinction’. We all have a line of distinction?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Beautifully said Calvin. “The line of Distinction” – I love that, and as you say, most often it’s ultra thin. You’ve got a great gift of seeing Calvin. I want some of that. 🙂

      Like

  5. Shweta says:

    Beautiful click Don!

    Like

  6. I do love reflections in water, especially when they stimulate one to reflect upon one’s own thoughts as here. A beautiful photograph.

    Like

  7. The “clear light of truth”–a perfect phrase–and the picture is an ideal match, Don.

    Like

  8. Serenity, so easily seen and experienced in both the ‘clear light of truth’ and more tangibly, nature. And while images captured and shared (thank you, Don) create the space, it is physically being in one with nature that makes the silence, the solitude, and the solace so ripe for reflection.

    Like

  9. Carolyn Page says:

    Beautiful image and sentiment, Don…

    Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    What a lovely view!

    Like

  11. Robert says:

    I agree Don, for me the hardest part is to remember myself as I rush around interacting with others

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

