A Window

plus1-8689.2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was captivated by the colours of this little scene inside the lounge of a small hotel in England. I felt compelled to photograph it.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to A Window

  1. ♡eM says:

    The rich colours somehow meld well with the dark silhouetted window and the light outside.

    Like

  2. I have been compelled as well at times, not knowing what it is that is before me at least with my thinking mind.
    Later the image and what is behind the image emerges. I am glad for you that were so compelled. What was it that spoke to you and how did it change you?

    Like

    • Don says:

      It was more than simply the colour that touched me; It also had to do with the observing of life outside that window. There was a gardener working in the garden and the scene spoke to me of the detached observer within me that has this wonderful capacity to be able to simply observe life through the various windows we look through. And so it was a kind of a moment of deep awareness.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Some scenes are a perfect combination of the interior colors and objects with the exterior view, and this is one of the most perfect combinations I’ve ever seen. And the fact that you captured it in a small hotel in England, and you have a photograph worth framing and keeping on a wall of perfect destinations at perfect moments. Bravo!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Marylin. You’re so right. I really like what you say about the combination of the interior with the exterior. The more I look at that the more I like it. Thank you for this insight. 🙂

      Like

  4. In the Stillness of Willow Hill says:

    Lovely.

    Like

  5. I can see the attraction of this window. The colours are lovely.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes, I was really moved by the colours, Sally. There was a fire in the background and I think it’s glow also had a lot to do with the projection of colour on the surroundings.

      Like

  6. So beautiful yet without a good eye it can go unnoticed 🙂

    Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    Lovely rich colors that draw one in.

    Like

  8. sefeniak says:

    Glad you felt compelled! A lovely scene.

    Like

  9. Val Boyko says:

    I love the colors too and the contrasting angles. There’s a cosiness here looking out.

    Like

  10. This picture just makes me think of this place as being a quiet, warm, peaceful and safe place to be. The colours are so rich and warm on the inside and so green and hopeful on the outside.

    Like

  11. Robert says:

    Your picture reminds me; warmth in the cold The memory tugging at my heart strings Of places far away yet close in thoughts

    Thank you Don

    >

    Like

  12. In returning for another delightful visit to your blog Don, I wanted to share how uplifting this photograph is to me! Yes it is a lovely scene, but somehow the way you’ve captured it elevates it even more. Thank you for all you share, and I believe you ‘do good’ far more than you realize. hugs, Gina

    Like

  13. Rhonda says:

    A feeling that there is no wrong side of that window. No outsider there. lovely

    Like

Leave a Reply

