“Doing good To All”

help-164755_640The phrase “doing good to all” is one I take seriously. Obviously I fail dismally, but like “doing no harm” it’s a simple guideline giving much meaning and essence to life. The phrase is not meant to sound arrogant, superior or sanctimonious.

Have you ever noticed how easy it is to do good from a distance. It requires less of us, less involvement, less compassion and less engagement. For that reason “doing good to all” has, for me, come to mean exercising acts (or at least trying to) of goodness within my immediate world with those I rub and touch shoulders with every day of my life. This immediate world becomes the field in which “doing good to all” becomes a more workable and understandable reality.

So, in this small world of mine, I try to do all I can to recognize goodness, no matter how small it may be, and to do all I can to add to it. And as I said, I fail dismally.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in inspiration, Life, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to “Doing good To All”

  1. darrelhoff says:

    Reading this comes at the right time.

    Like

  2. Doing good to those close to us is paradoxically the hardest because they see us in all moods, etc. But it also shows our true face, what we are really like. Just a thought, Don. I hope it’s not off topic.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I agree Monika. That’s precisely it. It’s far easier to do good from a distance, but to those close to us, that’s a different story. Certainly not off the topic.Extremely relevant to the topic. 🙂

      Like

  3. Val Boyko says:

    Hi Don, you’ve got my wondering here. What do you mean by “doing good” ? Is it being there for others… Is it serving many people… Is it putting others people’s needs before our own? Is it fixing other people’s problems? …..

    Like

    • Don says:

      What do I mean by good? Just simple stuff Val as the opportunities present themselves, nothing big, nothing complex, but it’s not fixing other people’s problems, that I leave to them.I battle enough with fixing my own. 🙂

      Like

  4. A very loving and practical approach (and honest, we all fail dismally). Peace.

    Like

  5. ptero9 says:

    Hi Don,
    With the recent passing of my step-dad, there is ample opportunity. Although like many of us, families can be both a blessing and a curse, with emotions running high, your words are a reminder to me to forgive and try to heal past hurts even in very simple ways. Life is short!
    Debra

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks for that Debra. You’re right, families can be battlegrounds full of wounded people, yet also places of belonging and love. Hope you’re coping with your loss, and strength to you.

      Like

  6. Perfect timing again, Don. I suppose it’s always the perfect time for acts of goodness though, isn’t it? It is most certainly in the little things. A shared smile with a stranger that appears to be having a hard day, helping a teensy-tinesy elderly woman by reaching the items on a high shelf in a store (this seems to be my specialty), or helping someone in need with an act of kindness, a kind word or simply no judgement. Doing good, as you say, it’s great for the giver and receiver and is often passed along. None of us is perfect but when we extend ourselves outward with intent toward goodness everyone wins.

    Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    Actions and words are the windows through which the heart is seen. ~ American Proverb

    And from where I stand, your heart is plenty big!

    Like

  8. Theo Coggin says:

    The toughest call of all! I always try to remember that I have to love those whom I do not like. And sometimes, even, those who scare me or make me nervous… An open mind is a prerequisite – and you have always had that Don!

    Like

    • Don says:

      You’re right Theo, it is the toughest call. Those we don’t like are the toughest challenges. These challenges often say more about us than of them. It’s easy to love them from a distance, but when you’re constantly rubbing shoulders with them, that’s another story. Thank you also for your kind words. I appreciate them immensely.

      Like

  9. doronart says:

    I am for it and it is so easy to do good, it is amazing to see how small make some people feel great. And for Theo above me ^ rubbing shoulder with those you mentioned often effect them too for the better.

    Like

  10. Don, You certainly offer and send goodness out into the cyber world through your blog… I would say that’s certainly a “doing good to all….”…you are not “failing”….you’re offering abundantly and I appreciate that you do that…. thank you….

    Like

  11. It makes me think how often we sit and wish that we could fix the world, meanwhile there is a neighbour who is hungry or an elderly person down the road who is lonely. If everyone just reached out to those around them, then there might not be so much fixing to do in the world 🙂 Thanks for a beautiful and though provoking post Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      There is, as you say, Jacquie, a simplicity about it. Not sure why we struggle to grasped that simplicity. Perhaps it’s got something to do with the ego; it’s got to be big, it’s got to be visible and you’ve got to have results that can be measured. Thanks Jacquie

      Like

  12. Well said, Don. Simply, clearly…and with good possibility and awareness of what it really means to ‘do good to all.” Excellent post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

