A “Non-Visit” to the Movies

film-162028_640Jane and I visited our Mall the other day. On the spur of the moment we decided to see what was showing at the movie houses. Took the elevator to the top floor and walked along the line of posters advertising the different movies.

Every one of them, I mean every one, was an image of muscle-bound, gun-toting, absurdly tattooed and aggressive blobs of unredeemed masculinity,Β indiscriminately blowing up the world around them. Needless to say we left. So tired of this kind of crap and this in a nation labelled as one of the most violent in the world.

The saying goes that you can tell the soul of a nation by the way it treats its animals. Let me add another – you can tell the soul of a nation by the kind of movies dominating its entertainment circuits.

I think I’m getting old.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Entertainment, Life, movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to A “Non-Visit” to the Movies

  1. darrelhoff says:

    The Lego Movie will give you hope. It reminds and teaches kids and adults to keep using your imagination. Trust me you really will enjoy that film πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Theo Coggin says:

    Nope, not old Don… just intelligently (and thankfully) sensitive and discerning. We go only to movies that we are reasonably certain eschew gratuitous violence of any kind; that means we don’t go to many.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Theo. We feel the same and there’s not many we go to as well. It’s so sad. We enjoy the movies, but the sheer nonsense on the circuit is immensely annoying.

      Like

  3. Robert says:

    Supply and demand Don, it’s a shame there wasn’t at least one screen showing a movie on limited release

    Like

  4. As Theo said above, Don, not old but discerning. I have the same problem with movies here – though there are some good ones now and again. But we rarely go to a cinema.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Linda. We used to love going to the cinema. We always looked forward to it and to the discussion afterward, but now, like you, we rarely go.

      Like

  5. Dianne says:

    You are so right – and it’s everywhere: Films, televisions shows, DVD’s – no wonder it is in reality as well. But as Robert said, sadly, supply and demand. When I look around I often wonder what has happened to humanities ‘Imago Dei’

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Diane. You speak of the Imago Dei. I think the concept itself is a human construct shot through with the very bull sh.. described. I don’t think we’ve got a clue what the concept really means. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. I have such a hard time sitting through an entire movie I hardly ever watch them! We’re all getting older. πŸ˜‰
    Diana xo

    Like

  7. josna says:

    Well put, Don. It’s exactly the same with the blockbuster movies here in the U.S. Thankfully there are some independent films and we have an independent non-profit movie theater in our town, but at the multiplexes it’s almost all killing people and blowing things up. Sigh.

    Like

  8. Maureen says:

    Don, I am so with you on this one! When anybody suggests going out to a movie (I live in Toronto Canada), I always say the same thing, “I will go with you only if there is anything worthwhile seeing.” I too find myself disheartened by the schlock that passes for feature films these days – with rare exceptions, I no longer enjoy going out to the cinema.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I’m with you on that Maureen. The “rare exceptions” are so hard to find. Love the word “schlock” – better than sh…t πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. nrhatch says:

    I refuse to pay good money to watch bad movies. We do enjoy our Netflix subscription ~ we get about 8 movies a month for $8. And I don’t have to remember what movies I want . . . I just add them to the queue when I hear of them (e.g., the Lego Movie) and eventually they arrive in my mailbox.

    Like

  10. Hudson Howl says:

    ‘M I N D L E S S C R A P’ !!!!!!!! ….unfortunately that’s what sells.

    So much so, even if a good one existed it’s difficult to find it amongst the ‘junk’. Your not old, but in this country calling it a ‘movie house’ would put you somewhere between ninety an the grave -I know neither is the case.

    I seldom go to the cinema . At one time I went to repertory cinemas quite often, but the closes one was 80kms away and that has since closed down.

    Like

  11. We hardly ever go any more either but we are very lucky in that when we do, we have a beautiful 1930s cinema to go to. Sadly, it is under threat from a soon-to-be-built multiplex – unless the protests of thousands of us hold sway.
    We find on the TV too that many many dramas are about the murders of women and we no longer watch any of those too.
    I agree with the above comments about discerning viewers but it’s worrying that ‘supply and demand’ seems to want the violence.
    Sorry not to have been by for a bit, somewhat under the weather…… πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      I suppose in a sense we are all victims of supply and demand except the so called mainstream. Now I think I’m moving in to being judgmental. Hope the clouds have dissolved for you Sally.

      Like

      • Thank you – not so much clouds as a chest infection that wouldn’t go away and today, I’m told, it’s graduated to pleurisy. I just have to learn to slow down for a bit but I hate to miss anything! πŸ™‚

        Like

      • Don says:

        Relax and get well. I’m sure you’ll make up for it when you’re well again. πŸ™‚

        Like

  12. Val Boyko says:

    Hhmmm … thank goodness movies don’t represent souls. As others have said its marketing – supply and demand. Makes me wonder why no one ever asks me what we want…. Maybe there’s no money to be made from insights from life until the marketeers reach that point in their lives.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I often wonder Val to what degree marketing, supply and demand and such stuff interfere with the whole process of becoming conscious. I think the influence is enormous Maybe that’s why you’re never asked. You’re far too conscious. Conscious people are a marketeer’s nightmare.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Carolyn Page says:

    I’m with you Don; it’s very rare these days that we visit the cinema – very disappointing usually.!
    Must tell you this little story though. We turned the tele on last night to find nothing of great interest. Keith said “How about a movie”? and began investigating the DVD’s. “How about this one”? It was a ‘boy’ movie, as I call them – you know – rough, shoot ’em up, car chasing noisy violent clones of many others of its genre. I agreed, reluctantly. Within minutes I needed to vamoose the room, taking refuge in the bedroom furthest from the battle sight, enjoying the beautiful peaceful sounds of the steady rain as it washed the plants and flowers in the backyard. There I lay down and pondered the beauty of our world, fell asleep and awoke when the chaos was over… Ah, life was peaceful once again…! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  14. Anonymous says:

    I can only think of one thing worse than all this gratuitous violence in the movies Don and that is when you are
    suddenly and unexpectedly given a full frontal so to speak of someones most private and intimate moments.
    Toe cringing embarrassment, don,t you think? Sex, language violence, it,s just not ok by me.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Katy. Yes, I think all those things are part of life. For me it’s the way they are presented. There are no doubt tasteful ways in which they can be conveyed. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing Katy.

      Like

  15. ladyfi says:

    I abhor violent movies too! I love films that are funny or sad or speak to the emotions.

    Like

  16. Don, I’m also getting old. I tried to watch a DVD with the family the other night (not knowing it was going to have zombies in it) and I couldn’t finish it. Later, when I was outside in the dark with my dog, I was reminded of why I don’t watch scary shows… I think we get hardened to violence etc. and that’s not a good thing. I’m afraid that too many books are hardening hearts as well.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  17. Don, have you seen PHILOMENA? (not sure about the spelling) It didn’t get the Oscar, of course, but we were mesmerized by it. Based on a true story, excellent writing and acting, and the resolution is astounding.
    We used to have movie ‘date days’ every Friday, time for just the two of us to go out for breakfast then go to a movie and later talk about/debate what we’d seen. It’s getting more difficult to find enough good movies to fill our schedule…

    Like

    • Don says:

      I haven’t seen it Marylin. I’ll certainly look out for it. Always looking for something good. Sounds great.

      We also used to have those moments, but sadly we too don’t have them much any more. Something rather sad about that.

      Like

  18. cindy knoke says:

    It is VERY rare for me to see a movie these days. They are all remakes or as you describe….total junk. I think as a nation we are dumbing up……at least movies are getting far less audience numbers, so the ones going to the movies are dumbing up and the ones who don’t go are getting smarter……maybe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

