A Shop with an Attitude

A clothing store in our mall persisted in belting out it’s music in to the passage way. It was intrusive and irritating.

A number of people complained and the response of the staff in the store was to place a notice in the window stating: “If you find the music too loud. then you’re too old.”Β 

Now how’s that for downright rudeness. Not easy to grasp or understand that kind of mentality.

Anyway we walked past the shop the other day. Needless to say it’s no longer there. It went out of business. Surprising? Not at all. Β “Attitude” and doing business just don’t mix. They found that out the hard way.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Letting go of Ego, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Shop with an Attitude

  1. josna says:

    I’m glad they learnt that, though too bad for them that they learnt the hard way. They probably thought they could afford to alienate groups who weren’t their target audience, but clearly they miscalculated. Unfortunately I find “attitude” everywhere these days, and in establishments that are too big to go under. It would take extreme rudeness or worse for me to report an employee to his or her boss and risk being responsible for their being fired; so I try (but don’t always succeed) to be upbeat and not to take the rudeness personally.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I sometimes feel, Josna, that when this kind of thing is not challenged it simply starts becoming the norm. I’m watching this slowly happen in our country. You’re right, this kind of “attitude is everywhere.

      Like

  2. darrelhoff says:

    It sounds childish or something… but I wish that shop owner would have heard from someone (maybe their own conscience…) “I told you so” such attitude… must be learnt from. Hopefully they don’t repeat that behaviour. Also.. how unoriginal… that slogan “If it’s too loud, you’re too old” came from 5fm.

    Like

  3. Shweta says:

    I am glad that they learnt their lesson…such rudeness & arrogance!!

    Like

  4. valleygrail says:

    New sign: I found your music too loud. Maturity trumped hubris.

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Like you, I’m not surprised that they are no longer there.

    I don’t enjoy loud intrusive music ~ it’s a form of noise pollution for people who are “afraid” to be alone with their thoughts.

    Like

  6. tomsimard says:

    I have a really hard time understanding it as well. Especially since it wasn’t let’s say young people at a party but people working in a shop that needs customers to survive.

    Their sign really says it all.

    Like

  7. This is a ‘right-on’ post, Don, a perfect example of ‘what fools we (young) mortals can be.’ The younger generations confuse altitude with attitude–I heard that from a wise old neighbor who said this new generation has its head in the clouds where the air is too thin, and they think they know it all and can do whatever they please. THAT is altitude attitude.
    Sometimes we see others with ‘attitude’ that is confident, hopeful, energetic and helpful. Not often, but sometimes.
    The altitude attitude of the owners playing the loud music deserved to be put out of business.

    Like

  8. Val Boyko says:

    It isn’t as black and white for me Don. You see. I actually love loud music and I am old.
    However, there is a time and a place when I can choose it rather than be abused by it.
    πŸ˜‰
    The message was judgmental and short sighted…. and clearly poor for business.

    Like

  9. Here in the States the loud music is often coming from the car next to us which will have all windows lowered and speaker volumes raised to the roof. I am briefly irritated, but the moment passes quickly as the car drives away.
    I always wonder, though, why some people feel their right to loud sounds overshadows others’ rights to a quiet ride. It’s a conundrum.

    Like

    • Don says:

      We have the experience of the cars as well, Sheila – not good.

      I’ve also wondered about that. They just seem to be unconscious to what they’re doing, but very conscious of their rights to do what they’re doing. πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Great post Don. Reminds me of Marianne Williamson owning a bookstore (years ago) and switching from seeing each person who came in as a ‘meal ticket’ as her marketer said, to seeing each one as being someone she had been sent to ‘minister’ to… to offer kindness whether they made a purchase or not. Guess those rude business owners never read her works?

    Like

  11. Anonymous says:

    I,ve just seen this post Don, a bit late but I wanted to respond. There is a difference between music, real music, and noise pretending to be music. I don,t know if real music could ever be too loud or offensive, whereas noise could whisper and it,s till noise.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hi Katy. Makes sense what you say. I suppose the term “real music” is also relative. What is real for one may not be real for the other, but I agree with you, I think there is a kind of universal response to what could be termed “real music.” Thank you for sharing. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

