Conveyers of other People’s Thoughts and Ideas

Courtesy Pixabay

Courtesy Pixabay

We’ve become extremely good conveyers of other people’s thoughts and ideas, often without those thoughts even taking root within our own lives. We take them and without them ever touching our hearts, simply pass them on to others.

I saw such a good phrase the other day, “solo flights of thought,” referring to those creative thoughts and ideas that come to us in individual moments of solitude and aloneness – our own revelations and ideas as we plug in to our own hearts and minds.

I think, and this is just my view, we’ve become rather obsessive with our collectivism and group processes of thinking and creativity. Relying far too much on others, we seem to have lost touch with our own deeper wells of solitude, ideas and thought.

I wonder if a greater integration between the two is not needed. I think so.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, imagination, inspiration, Life, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Conveyers of other People’s Thoughts and Ideas

  1. Hudson Howl says:

    I was in the clouds long before cyber space.

    Like

  2. seaangel4444 says:

    So incredibly well put! I am reminded of the word, “groupthink”. Sometimes we also tend to go along with the ‘group’, as it were, in order to be accepted, as opposed to relaying what our own thoughts tell us. The “lonely planet” idea is often where we find our true inspiration! Thank you for (as always) a terrific post! Big hugs, Cher xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Cher for your insightful comment.You’re right, there are within the group so many pressures to conform. But I suppose it’s also the place where we learn to flex our individuality and make our own ideas and thoughts know. 🙂

      Like

      • seaangel4444 says:

        Don, that is a very good point. I find that we tend to be so influenced by group pressures (my degree is in sociology; how can you tell? *grin*); however, you are correct. We do need to flex our individuality and a group is the perfect place to achieve this. Thank you as always, Don! Big hugs, Cher xo

        Like

  3. I agree with you on this one! When something affects us personally, when it is us being true to ourselves, being authentic – it is a thousand times more meaningful.

    We seem to be looking for simple formulas. When something works for one person, we think we can just apply it everywhere and in any type of situation, and get favourable results. You know what I mean?

    Diana xo

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Enjoyed this provocative post – I get it and agree with you!

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Agreed. Look deep . . . the answers lie within.

    That said, there is no reason to start from scratch. We can build on the thoughts of those who came before us ~ not through wholesale adoption of their truths but by running those thoughts through our internal filter to see what resonates with our inner compass.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes, I really like that Nancy. I suppose we have to ask if there is such a thing as original thought kind of cut off from the historical process of thought. I don’t believe there is, but by doing what you have described, when we run those thoughts through our internal filters I think we fill them with a small part of our own uniqueness and they take on some form of originality. Good comment Nancy. Thanks.

      Like

  6. There is little better than a quiet moment lost in one’s own creative thoughts! What will we do without being able to dream!

    Like

  7. Val Boyko says:

    There is so much wisdom and thoughts in the world going back over time. There may not be a truly original thought left …. but I like to think we can share our interpretation of it from something within ourselves.
    When it comes from our own mind body and soul then we add meaning to it.

    Conveyers have their place too.
    We should all be careful about judging others who pass on without thought. At least they are passing on in a world where most people are ignorant…. Surely a small light is worth more than none at all.
    It may kindle some fire within them at some stage.

    Val x

    Like

    • Don says:

      Your caution in judging, Val, is taken. You’re right, light is light in whatever hands. I think what you say about our interpretation adding meaning, is so true. We build on insights and thoughts and ideas and extend them in to our own contexts where new meaning is experienced. I like that. Thanks for a great comment Val.

      Like

  8. When I was growing up in the 50s and 60s I remember a great emphasis on the individual and becoming a solo thinker. Today the generation appears to be mob flashers who have little interest in thinking differently from their peer group. Seems a shame to me.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Sheila you make such a valid point. We’ve gone, as you say, from a kind of rugged individualism in our thinking to imperialist like collective thinking. It is such a shame but the signs of balance are showing up and that’s good news. Appreciate your sharing Sheila.

      Like

  9. I agree, Don. We need to think for ourselves, but we also need to have others around us so we can bounce ideas and concepts around. Solo and group – both important, but not one more than the other.
    As usual great post.

    Like

  10. I think you’re absolutely right, Don. We often collective purvey and then convey thoughts and are too influenced by them. I’m not sure what the remedy is, though; we’re constantly bombarded by the media and all sorts of devices, and we don’t get enough “alone” time to sort out our true thoughts from those of others.
    Very good post.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Marylin. Enjoyed your comment. You are so right. Your speaking about the media raises the issue of just how imperialistic it can be with its conveying of thoughts. That alone time you describe to sort our thoughts from those of others, I think, as you do, is immensely important. Thank you for bringing another slant to the post. Appreciate that.

      Like

  11. ladyfi says:

    It’s a fine balance: we need to think OF others, but we don’t need them to think FOR us.

    Like

  12. darrelhoff says:

    I really like this Don. So true.

    Like

  13. Espirational says:

    I prefer to work alone because when an idea comes up I need to work on it right now. I also grew up in the time when we were told “do your own work.” But I have been noticing a lot of synchronicity lately. I post something online, then discover other people are thinking along the same lines. For example, I thought I had such a great idea for Healthy Living A to Z this year. Then I discovered apparently this is the year of A to Z posts. After I got over the disappointment of not being unique I’ve been enjoying reading what others have been coming up with.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for sharing that Rogene. I must say that I have also noticed something of the synchronicity you describe. I think it’s wonderful that you are able to work alone and also get joy and insight from others. It’s something of that much needed balance. 🙂

      Like

  14. Shweta says:

    I enjoyed reading the post Don

    Like

  15. Robert says:

    I agree with you Don, for me photography and writing are my way of capturing the spark of inspiration that would otherwise fade.

    >

    Like

  16. Dan Antion says:

    I think you’re right. Creativity gets harder as you add people to the mix, especially when you add people who don’t think we should change or are stuck on the notion of “but we’ve always done it like…” Sometimes I work through an idea for a blog post with others, but mostly it’s just what I find interesting or annoying or comical.

    Like

  17. Pingback: Hey! That’s What I Think! | Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

