A Mindful Moment

I stood on the rocks. The day was bright and the sea still and glass-like. Looking out to the horizon I felt the sheer stillness of the moment. Then just beyond the soft swell, the water, as if touched by some invisible breath, rippled in to life. Something had arrived. It was strange and almost mystical.

Suddenly, a stiff breeze whipped around my legs and face, and then, left as quick as it came.

I felt I’d been touched by something mysterious and transcendent. A profound sense of well-being, peace and gratitude came over me. Later I left with a lightness of step that was hard to describe.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Nature, Poetic Imagination, Sea, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to A Mindful Moment

  1. Val Boyko says:

    These moments in nature are to be cherished. Thank you for sharing this Don!

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    How lovely! What are we after all but balls of energy . . . breathed by unseen energy.

    Like

  3. Dianne says:

    What a privilege

    Like

  4. I love moments like this. The way they affect me lives warmly in my heart for a life-time.
    Diana xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      That’s so true Diana. I’ve had very few moments like these, but those I’ve had I’ve never forgotten, even the places where I’ve had them have always been remembered.

      Like

  5. What a beautiful moment. My time in the graveyard this weekend had a similar effect on me. I too was almost overwhelmed by the sense of well being, peace and gentleness that came into me.

    Like

    • Don says:

      What a marvellous place to have that kind of experience Sally. Times like those are precious indeed. I’m so impressed with you having taken up sailing. You inspire me. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • It is a cracker of a challenge and I am delighted by it. I determined to learn to swim before I was 40 and I did it. Now I am going to learn to sail before I am 70! Gosh, that is scary to write but it’s true – on the last day of next year that will become a truth! Thank you so much for your encouragement. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • Don says:

        Wonderful Sally.

        Like

  6. I have had similar things happen to me, Don. They are magical and to be cherished. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      You’re right Linda. So glad you’ve had them too. Moments like those are real gifts to us. They’re so life-giving and energizing.

      Like

  7. What a blessing and so beautifully told, Don.

    Like

  8. Don this is where I think God lives. I’m very drawn to nature … the desire increases every time I yearn for spiritual growth. I don’t think God at the of a top of mountain … or in the middle of the desert .. .these places are places that disarm us, removing our ignorance, arrogance and ego … it’s then that we are naked enough to be become receptive of the world which were fast and furiously losing touch with.

    Like

  9. When I was a girl, I experienced something very similar to this several times after a traumatic experience. I learned to close my eyes, take a calming breath, and trust it was the gentle brush of air as angel wings hovered around me.
    Thanks, Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for sharing that Marylin. They must have been healing experiences for you. They are such gifts aren’t they? What I find so profound about them is that we have no control over them. They simply happen. They cannot be manufactured. .

      Like

  10. Jack Saunsea says:

    What was it that touched you? What was it that was touched?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Jack. My answer would be “I really don’t know.” for me to put a label on it I feel would simply trivialize something deeply profound and mysterious. I’ve grown extremely comfortable with the aspect of “not knowing” in the spirituality I practice. I try and steer clear of naming and labeling experiences as I feel it tends to solidify them into a particular definition, and the next step is one of dogmatizing them. Appreciate your comment Jack.

      Like

  11. darrelhoff says:

    I want a moment like that again ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  12. Peter Grassow says:

    These moments are a gift to be treasured. I have discovered that they cannot be engineered – as much as I would like to grasp at them. In fact my human desire to accumulate experiences often tempts me to try to grasp at the experiences of others. The best I can do is to be opento the whisper of the Spirit.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I agree with you Pete. The numinosity of these experiences make them like the wind which, as you say, cannot be engineered. I love what you say about the tendency to want to grasp at these experiences. So true. Your last sentence puts it together for me. Thanks again Pete.

      Like

  13. Anonymous says:

    That “profound sense of well being”is so rare and fleeting. I wonder
    why that is the case. I can probably count mine on my fingers.
    But I love your description Don of being on the rocks. I was transported there and I could “see” the ocean.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Katy. Yes, they are so rare and fleeting aren’t they, but I think that is precisely what makes them so precious. I too have had only a few of these experiences, but can remember each one of them. Thanks again for your comment Katy.

      Like

  14. ladyfi says:

    Nature never ceases to amaze!

    Like

  15. seaangel4444 says:

    Hi Don! I have nominated you for the Dragonโ€™s Loyalty Award! You can find out the details on my blog by following this link: http://wp.me/P4doQv-9K Thank you! Cher xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

