From My Sketchbook -18

Once again my love of the Namibian Landscape expressed itself in this sketch. I did it with Graphitint pencils. Click to enlarge, if you like.

20140513_163159.3

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, Nature, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to From My Sketchbook -18

  1. Kathy says:

    Oh, how peaceful, and such a vast sky. Could easily spirit myself there, turn a complete circle and see no other human being in the stillness all around.
    Keep sketching – says she, who needs to listen to that herself! 🙂

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    See your sketches always makes me want to break out my sketchpad.

    Like

  3. kocoart says:

    this is lovely

    Like

  4. Hudson Howl says:

    A Niece lived and ‘learned’ in northern Kenya once upon a time. Before returning back to Canada she traveled Africa. I know from her stories Namibia was a fav in terms of landscape.

    Like

    • Don says:

      That’s interesting Calvin. Yes, it’s a strange and beautiful landscape, the kind that myths are made of. 🙂

      Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        Not to muddy up your post (omit if you like), but this reminded me of that junction in her life (my last comment not your great sketch). A cultural shock for her, but a jolt that did much good in the end. That said, something happened over there. Horror of horrors, she returned a ‘conservative’. Eeeek gads.

        Oh well, on the upside, we did quite well on artifact and art gifting on her return. Appreciation for the care package we sent six weeks before her leaving Canada. It arrived just as homesickness was kicking in. In hind sight, and it is still brought up on occasion, the kilo of chocolate should not have been packed. She still remembers licking it off of everything else, happily she adds.

        Like

      • Don says:

        I’d love to be able to talk to her about her experience. I think Africa is often romanticized and when thinking and sensitive people come here, they are touched by its beauty, mystery, wildness and hospitality, but also by its cruelty and darkness. It can be a very disturbing place for many.

        Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        Actual with her it was the opposite in fact, but I understand what you mean.

        A year and half in the planning and talking. Raising funds through donations and sponsorship to support her and all programs she might be able to put together to help women in rural communities. Part cultural exchange part global non-religious volunteering. High risk. By herself completely, no support once out of Nairobi (700km from which).

        Like

      • Don says:

        A very courageous woman.

        Like

  5. Nicely done, Don. Reminds me of the dessert area spread below the Sangre de Cristo Mountains in Colorado. A quiet, solemn, soul-restoring area that gives you time to rest and think.

    Like

  6. ptero9 says:

    Very beautiful Don! I love the sparseness and the vivid textures.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Debra. Yes, the sparseness also touches me. Some places in Namibia where the sparseness and emptiness is of such magnitude that it can be quite overwhelming.

      Like

  7. josna says:

    What a beauty this one is! How can something seemingly so sparse, convey so much? Wonderful.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Josna. It is that sparseness that so characterizes Namibia. When you are in its landscapes you cannot help but feel small. One horizon after another. Your thinking can’t be small and narrow when you root your feet in its deserts, hills and shrub. Far me it has a deeply mystical flavour. 🙂

      Like

  8. I love it Don!
    Diana xo

    Like

  9. This might be my favorite, Don – absolutely takes my breath away.

    Like

  10. Carolyn Page says:

    Wow, Don. You’ve turned a rather barren landscape into a thing of peaceful beauty. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

