A Discussion About God

Yesterday I listened to a discussion about God. Pondering on some of the things I heard I couldn’t help but wonder how at times the god or gods we create are far less moral than we who create them. It’s as if once we label a particular conception, or design, or pattern of thought with the word “God” it suddenly has this arbitrary right to act contrary to even the most decent of human ethics.  Sadly, when this kind of  “godly” action is questioned the concept is dressed up in a further label, that of being all powerful and having the right to do whatever it wishes.

I must say that when this point is reached in this kind of discussion, as it inevitably always is, my mind begins to wonder down another road. 🙂

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Life, Religion, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to A Discussion About God

  1. Tim Attwell says:

    Absolutely right Don!

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Man created God . . . not vice versa.

    Like

  3. josna says:

    Fascinating point of departure, Don. Now, why would we create gods who freely violate all decent codes of human conduct? Perhaps they weren’t gods to start with, just legendary heroes who became deified. Or perhaps we tell (and rework) stories of their actions to justify our own in the present. Either way, these stories are useful to us only to the extent that we use them as starting points for reflection and discussion. When they start being used to dictate political agendas, as you put it, “my mind starts to wander–no, run as fast as it can–down another road! Thanks as always for getting us thinking.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I think a large part of the answer to your question lies in what you said Josna – “Or perhaps we tell (and rework) stories of their actions to justify our own in the present.”

      Our gods are very much like us. As far as dictating political agendas, well, we’ve lived through such an agenda backed by a powerful theological design. The cost has been enormous and we will go on experiencing for a long long time.

      Thanks for a great comment Josna. Really appreciate it.

      Like

  4. In the Stillness of Willow Hill says:

    My Truth finally nudged me strongly enough to reject the hellfire and brimstone god of my friends. They spend their lives trying to justify all of the inconsistencies in their beliefs. They simply believe that they are right because they were taught they are right. You can’t have an honest discussion with these people about truly unconditional love.

    Like

  5. Don, I agree with your point here. Having said that, I do believe in God, in a creator and I admit there are things I don’t understand and things that I can’t reconcile in my mind. This is also true in other areas of my life, i.e., I believe in democracy and yet there are things that I don’t understand or can reconcile in my mind. Is that because democracy is a bad idea? Is it because people find a way to twist it or corrupt it? I don’t know, yet I still believe in democracy…
    Diana xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      You put it beautifully Diana. When you speak of not understanding then you speak the kind of language I warm to. We know but we also don’t know and it’s this “not knowing” which I believe is the key. I become very edgy with people who seem to know more of what goes on in “God’s” mind than in the mind of their pets. Thank you for sharing – appreciate it.

      Like

      • Rhonda says:

        I find I am on, if not the same road, at least a footpath off of the same road as Diane. I too believe, but always find myself left with things I don’t understand and questioning the motivations of the supposed believers that bury their tolerance in a book and a church, yet preach to others to love thy neighbor. When I see the hypocrisy rampant in every denomination of organized religion, I know more and more, that my relationship with God lives in my heart and not in a church, and certainly, doesn’t live in a book written by men. I know that my questions find answers when I have faith they will. Faith being the key word…that I’ll be guided to the truth when I am ready to learn it.
        There will always be questions, and always be hypocrites who preach one thing and live another.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Rhonda, thank you for sharing. Appreciate it. I think being left with things we don’t understand is part of the journey which unfolds as we become ready for that which seeks to unfold. I think the secret is living with the “not understanding” phases of life.

        I so liked what you said – ” Faith being the key word…that I’ll be guided to the truth when I am ready to learn it.” Maybe that’s the kind of attitude we need to have in those “not understanding” phases.

        Thanks again for sharing your meaningful insight.

        Like

  6. Perceptions about God often form the excuses for the most infuriating and terrible crimes people commit against each other. Still, however, I continue to believe, in my own heart and out of my own experiences.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I agree Marylin. These perceptions you speak of have often caused great harm and suffering. But then there have also been perceptions that have led to great acts of compassion and life. I think your last sentence lies at the heart of things – thank you 🙂

      Like

  7. It is good that we allow ourselves to wander down other roads, Don. And more to your reflection, herein is just part of the problem we create when, with ease, we label. This is why I choose to keep my connection with Spirit (God) personal and private. We like it this way. 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      I too try and stay away from labels Eric. I find them so limiting and oppressive. I like your phrase “connection with Spirit.” Good to have you back. Hope you enjoyed your space. 🙂

      Like

    • Don says:

      I think it is the road of “not knowing” the one I spoke of to Diana in her comment. Thank you, and I really appreciate you following my blog.

      Like

  8. Val Boyko says:

    Its good to share this open road of not knowing and discovery with you Don! Val x

    Like

  9. darrelhoff says:

    I’m sure God smiles. And i think God would smile on these honest and good words of yours. There is a lot of crap (dare, I say) when it comes to ideas and thoughts of God. I think you ponder and write carefully. and that I always respect and appreciate!

    Like

  10. Robert says:

    I’m with you Don 🙂

    >

    Like

  11. Don, I’ve always liked what was said of Aslan in the Chronicles of Narnia: He is not a tame lion. I think the same is true of the God of the bible. I don’t understand everything–in fact not much–but I know that I believe.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

    • Don says:

      Ah! Aslan wonderful character. You’re right Wendy. I always feel the “gods” we create are so domesticated and tame. Thank you for that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

