From My Sketchbook – 20

I’ve been doing some fascinating reading around the whole theme of the wildman archetype. While reading, I felt the need to draw so I drew a wildman, but with sensitive and contemplating eyes trying to combine wildness with sensitivity. Enjoyed doing it. There’s just something about expressing what you see and feel on paper.

20140527.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Contemplation, From My Sketchbook, imagination, Life, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 20

  1. Michael says:

    Wow. That is magical, Don…

    Michael

    Like

  2. seaangel4444 says:

    Another wonderful sketch, Don! It reminds me of the lovable character from the Harry Potter series (Haggard); he’s a big man with an equally big beard, but is kind and has the eyes to match! Well done, Don! Cher xo

    Like

  3. seaangel4444 says:

    Haggard is one of my favorite Harry Potter characters because of his kindness!! xo

    Like

  4. I love his eyes Don! I can’t draw well but if I recall, eyes are very hard. Well done!
    Diana xo

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Nice, Don! Is it a caveman or perhaps a self portrait? 😎

    Like

  6. You enjoyed creating it, and I certainly enjoy seeing it, Don! What I see is a cross between John the Baptist and one of the Duck Dynasty characters…
    Either way (or neither) I think your creation is wonderful.

    Like

  7. Val Boyko says:

    He’s great Don! I love how his eyes are open with a slight query in this or life of the eyebrows. If he was frowning he would be scary wild. Val x

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    Tfhe Wildman has life in his eyes Don, if you know what I mean. I think that must be very difficult to achieve. Also the wildness is only
    on the outside.
    , Inside there is a feeling individual. I don,t think he would
    scare me if I met him face to face!!

    Like

    • Don says:

      That’s so perceptive Katy. I’m glad you feel that way about the image because that is something of what I was trying to portray. Thanks for seeing and feeling that. 🙂

      Like

  9. Carolyn Page says:

    Don, to me it looks like a very sensitive man trying (in vain) to hide his sensitive nature. I feel for him…!
    Your sketches are reminding me of a love for portrait drawing I used to do many years ago. Every time I see yours, I wonder if ever I will be inspired to do so again. It’s such a soothing pastime!

    Like

  10. Anonymous says:

    Man of many talents, well done Don

    Like

  11. I always enjoy exploring archetypes, Don. Thanks for creating time to draw and share this.

    Coincidentally, I just yesterday read an article about the emerging study of Highly Sensitive People (HSP), a cohort with which I seen aligned. Thus, I appreciate your attention to his sensitive eyes.

    Like

  12. Anonymous says:

    Your wildman has a primal edge. One that goes back before the sins of man. Big stretch of the imagination, right?

    Within the realm of ‘the Big Think’ tank which we carry about with us. It is interesting how we see things to be or how we think they should be, based on so many influences, some of which are undetectable. My version of ‘wild man’ would and is opposite to yours visually but not inwardly -same character just the surface would be different. To be truthful, am not sure I know what sensitive eyes would really look. But I could draw on my impression what I think they should. Then I think do I trust my impression?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment – much appreciated. I agree. Behind our seeing of things there is the unique history or story of a person that no doubt colours her/his perception. I think that’s marvellous. Bring these tapestries of seeing together and you get closer to what is actually real. Would love to see your version of a wildman. Thank you again for sharing.

      Like

    • Don says:

      O okay Calvin. Sorry about that. Not sure either. I hope the old problem isn’t coming back.

      Like

      • Anonymous says:

        No, it is not a problem at your end, I think it is a wordpress browser issue, which will fix itself with updates.

        My ‘wildman’ looks like this, no eyes, no hair -sensitivity via his actions. http://www.beyondplumcreek.com/shtufffs/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/uponoceandream.png

        ‘their place is one of contentment and wonderment
        eyes glazed over entrenched in rock
        the sword, the gun, the shield long since buried
        loves devotion craves the benevolence of stone disguised as skin
        her light is brilliant in darkness
        vaporizing fear, anger and the cruelties of icy monsters that dwell behind and within
        his deep slow breath sounds
        beguile despair for mariners, the blind and the broken’

        Like

      • Don says:

        Your wildman is absolutely stunning, Calvin

        Like

  13. Loved this. Especially the last part about self expression. We are altered, to some degree, by making what lies silent within manifest before us. It changes or nature in a deep and profound way. We often think it is practice that improves the artist. I think it may have more to do with the tuning that happens when we engage continuously in this process. Inner art, manifest outwardly, changes the inner art. Each piece tunes the instrument. Thank you for your visit. I shall spend some time here.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you for your deeply thoughtful comment. Always such a pleasure to receive a comment like this. Your sentence about inner art and change for me is right on the button. Couldn’t agree more. Thank you for your visit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

