Seeing Behind The Words

I like people who have this wonderful gift of being able to see behind the words. I’m sure you know what I mean. They come to your rescue when you’ve communicated something that has come out all wrong. Yet, in spite of the garbled phrase or phrases, they  get the meaning and in a gracious way, through a gesture or a polite and subtle clarification, show you they get it.

Receiving such a gift brings with it a wonderful release of breath. Something of the embarrassment dissolves and you feel understood. It’s a good feeling. I love people like that. Don’t you?

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Seeing Behind The Words

  1. Dan Antion says:

    This reminds me of one man in particular, an important mentor in my life. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Robert says:

    Connections are so important to me too Don

    Like

  3. Val Boyko says:

    I hear you Don 😉
    Listening to connect and tune in to an other person is often the best gift we can give them … and is always well received. Even in a fleeting moment!
    Val

    Like

  4. valleygrail says:

    Oh those pesky words! They always are getting in the way of what I am trying to say. And thank goodness for those who understand. Hopefully, someday I will be there when they need that verbal hand up.

    Like

  5. I absolutely do know, Don.
    Having a friend who sees behind your words is a special gift.

    Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    Wonderful point, Don. It’s great when we can tell that someone has really LISTENED to what we’re saying . . . enough that they can read between the lines to garner ALL of the intended content.

    I tire quickly of people who nod knowingly while missing the point completely. 😎

    Like

    • Don says:

      I like the way you put it Nancy – “…between the lines to garner ALL of the intended content.” Yip, it’s the “intended content” that’s the issue. Not everybody can discern that.

      I know some of those nodding people. 🙂

      Like

  7. Hudson Howl says:

    yes!

    Like

  8. yes. I. do. They’re usually people that know you well and understand what you mean when you say things. When they see that others are misreading your meaning they clarify. Has that been your experience Don?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Yes it has Diana. What I find is that their clarifying is not done in a condescending or intrusive manner, it just is and it fits. A wonderful skill.

      Like

  9. ladyfi says:

    Agreed – people with this rare gift are a breath of fresh air.

    Like

  10. Don, I do–I do appreciate this kind of person. It beats out a blank stare any day. Thank you for being one of those who truly listens.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  11. Pingback: Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary | Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

