Being Misunderstood

Being understood was the subject of my last post. Lets balance it a little. Constantly being understood must surely lead to a degree of boredom and mediocrity. Can I really become so predictable and calculable that not an ounce of mystery or obscurity resides in me anymore? Can my persistent  plea for understanding take me down a road of eventual irrelevance? I think it can.

Lets face it, a dash of incomprehensibility now and again keeps the fires of mystery burning and we certainly all need that. After all what is relationship without a degree of mystery. Oscar Wilde put it beautifully: “I live in terror of not being misunderstood.”  Think about that.  🙂

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Discernment, inspiration, Life, Poetic Imagination, Relationships, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Being Misunderstood

  1. That Wilde quote could be my motto. Brilliant!

    Like

  2. A very interesting perspective Don. I guess balance is the key here and everywhere. Too much of anything is too much. I had never heard that quote; using the word terror makes it very impactful!
    Diana xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Diana. I suppose the word “terror” is a little over the the top, but that’s Oscar Wilde for you, ever the dramatist. That, I suppose is his genius. 🙂

      Like

  3. darrelhoff says:

    This is very cool. Life without mystery on big things and people would be boring…

    Like

  4. Kathy says:

    Thank you for reminding me that it’s not either/or but both/and!

    Like

  5. Hudson Howl says:

    We’re a multidimensional lot. Are we not?

    Like

  6. Such a phrase–“…a dash of incomprehensibility now and again keeps the fires of mystery burning.” I’d tell you I totally understand, but that would ruin it. 😉
    You and Oscar Wilde and your terror at never being misunderstood. What a combination!

    Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    Are you going to be purposefully vague now, Don?

    Requiring us to scratch our heads as we attempt to read between the lines? 😎

    Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    From a post I wrote:

    In some cases, I suspect that lack of clarity in sentence after ghastly sentence stems from a latent desire to confuse and mislead readers.

    I know that seems counter-intuitive but . . . maybe watching readers scratch their heads or stall in the middle of the tracks makes befuddled or bemused writers feel intellectually superior to the masses.

    Who knows?

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/an-imbroglio-of-briars-and-quicksand/

    Like

  9. ptero9 says:

    I love your juxtaposition here Don!

    “Constantly being understood must surely lead to a degree of boredom and mediocrity.”

    It’s not likely I need to worry about this. 🙂

    Seriously though, there is a part of me that wants, perhaps too much, to be understood. Maybe that is so to the extent that I don’t understand myself or others!

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

  10. Val Boyko says:

    What a great quote from Oscar Wilde 🙂
    I also have a need to be understood …
    If I was always understood then there would be less challenge, curiosity and interactions with others.
    I may not really understand but I think you are right!!

    Like

  11. Tim Attwell says:

    A misunderstood colleague, responding to an accusing interlocuter who berated him for “talking over my head”, shot back with a delightful rejoinder: “If you lift your head a little higher, you’ll get it right between the eyes.” True story.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I love that Tim. So good. When your colleague said that I hope that also didn’t go over the head of the accusing interlocutor. 🙂

      Like

  12. ladyfi says:

    Love this twist!

    Like

  13. Carolyn Page says:

    I don’t think we have need to be concerned, Don. I doubt very much that many of us understand ourselves, let alone others..! 😉

    Like

  14. davecenker says:

    I think my brain hurts, but I like it 🙂 In a rather ironic twist of events, you are completely understood in this regard. If we were always completely understood in everything we undertook, the human race may stagnate. We need, in my opinion, misunderstanding in order to appreciate the difference in opinions that arise which give our universe meaning. I know, I just got all philosophical on you. Oscar Wilde will do that to me on occasion 😉 Thanks for sharing, great thoughts!

    Like

  15. Pingback: Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary | Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

