Waiting For The Tide

NB Sorry about the change in theme, but I’d like to change the size of my images making them just a little bigger.

__________________________________________________

Sometimes in life you have to wait for the tide to come in. There’s no other way. There is a patient sacredness about a certain kind of waiting.

IMG_0451.1

I took this in the village of Rye in England

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Photography, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Waiting For The Tide

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Beautiful…..I thought it was The Bay of Fundy. It looks just like it!

    Like

  2. So true, Don, and the picture is a perfect example.
    Low tides don’t last forever, but sometimes it feels like it. This post is a good reminder.

    Like

  3. Love the way you worded it and love that picture Don!
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Great shot. Reminds me of low tide in Kennebunkport Maine on the Kennebec River.

    Like

  5. Hudson Howl says:

    A worrier by nature, am always afraid the tide will go out and won’t come back. And by the way I have sat at high tide with my toes at waters’ edge and watched the tide go out then return to my toes just to be sure -six hours from high to low and six hours back to high, without bathroom break. Just for the experience to see enormous change take place. This was of course the above mentioned Bay Fundy tides which break the 13 metre mark and even great in August.

    For me your photo evokes a sense of melancholy. I always feel sad seeing a vessel tethered and out of the water -deprived of being what one was meant to be. So yes, sacredness is profound on your part.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Would love to experience those Bay Fundy tides. I suppose a boat without water is how we feel at times. For me there is something so sure and certain about the outgoing and incoming tide. I live very aware of the tides here on the coast. It’s a kind of a constant presence for me. 🙂

      Like

      • Hudson Howl says:

        I too popped back. I like the dark tonal blending (think it was green when I first commented now charcoal kinda sorta, which will suit your images and shtufffs.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Thanks Calvin. Yes I like the colour now. 🙂

        Like

  6. valleygrail says:

    And that is profoundly true. Beautiful photo.

    Like

  7. All in good time. The photo is lovely, Don. The metaphor equally poignant. My spirit appreciates the work and progress that we’ve made over the years, specific to patience and control. Onward, we say, flowing with the tide.

    Like

  8. Darrel H says:

    Rye. So pretty.

    Like

  9. Val Boyko says:

    Going with nature’s flow is a nice reminder for me today! Thank you Don.

    Like

  10. Bill says:

    I love your photo. Worth a million words! If we could learn to have such patience we would find that when the time is right and the tide is in, we could set our sails and truly enjoy what life has offered up!

    Like

  11. Don, I like the new theme and the picture. Waiting can be a time for us to become better prepared to truly appreciate and enjoy the gift to the fullest.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  12. davecenker says:

    I love the term ‘patient sacredness’. In a world filled with the need for immediate feedback, there is a somewhat difficult yet immensely rewarding feeling of appreciation and gratitude when we exhibit patience and admire the beauty around us while we wait for that tide to come in. Beautiful picture, poetic words, thanks for sharing.

    Like

  13. ladyfi says:

    Lovely shots – waiting for the tide can be difficult at times. I’d love to see your pictures even bigger!

    Like

Leave a Reply

