Big Ears

I was watching “Forest Gump” again. Yip, you’re right, I can’t get enough of a good thing. Have you ever noticed in the movie how big the young Forest Gump’s ears are. Quite striking. Recently I saw an old school photo of myself, and guess what, Β enorrrrmous ears.

head-46359_640I don’t think there’s a child or adolescent who hasn’t at some stage complained about big ears. Must have something to do with our stages of development. But I’m digressing now. What I really wanted to quickly share was that the youthful Forest Gump’s ears, when I saw them, reminded me of what Howard Hughes once said about Clark Gable: “That man’s ears make him look like a taxi-cab with both doors open.” What an image! Β I just had to smile when I made the connection.

By the way, just in case you think there’s a nasty critical streak in me, I’ve still got big ears, I just feel a whole lot better about them at this stage of my life. πŸ™‚

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Life, movies, Our Bodies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Big Ears

  1. valleygrail says:

    Ahhh, the better to hear you with!

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Haha! Fun post, Don. Love that Howard Hughes quote.

    Like

  3. Rhonda says:

    Love this! Just today…no lie, as I was again going through old photos with my husband…I commented on how he, as well as both our boys, had to grow ‘into’ their ears! LOL…too funny. (and you have great taste in movies and that quote from HH is dead on! Clark had ginormous ears!)

    Like

  4. Mine aren’t big but the left ear is slightly higher than the right ear. Makes for crooked glasses wearing. And to your point, Don, it’s so not an issue any more. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Don says:

      Now you really got me looking at that image of you. πŸ™‚

      It’s such a good place to be when these things really don’t matter any more, hey Eric.

      Like

  5. Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get… I love that movie too Don!

    Like

  6. Val Boyko says:

    Love your comment Diana!
    Life really is.
    Some chocolates have bigger ears. Some have smaller chins. The hard centers can be a bit of let down.
    So what!
    Lets simply enjoy the chocolates … and the love that they represent πŸ™‚
    Val x

    Like

  7. You’re preaching to the choir here, Don. My favorite picture of my husband as a little boy–when he was 4–he has H-U-G-E ears…but also an adorable smile to match. He grew into them both, especially the smile. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Don says:

    That’s wonderful Marylin. Such a great way of putting it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Carolyn Page says:

    So true, Don. We can only be ‘humourously’ critical when we ourselves see the condition within… Applies to so many things..!
    So good not to take ourselves too seriously. I was once so self critical about my slim legs. Now they dance; I adore them… πŸ˜‰

    Like

  10. Mary says:

    That was fun, needed that!

    Like

  11. ladyfi says:

    What a brilliantly descriptive quote!

    Like

  12. Ahmed says:

    good point, I guess I noticed the Forest’s big ears too hahaha. Perhaps, it has something to do with our bad habits -as humans- of talking more than listening, that’s why we have two ears, big ears apparently and one mouth. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

