From My Sketchbook – 23

A South African landscape. A scene from the Northern Cape Province.

20140610.6

 

I had a bit of a laugh this morning. On Sky News they were talking about going up in a balloon.The Anchor was asked if she’d ever flown in one.  “Never!” she retorted, “You won’t catch me flying around in the sky in a picnic basket.”  🙂

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, From My Sketchbook, imagination, inspiration, Nature, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 23

  1. Carolyn Page says:

    Hahaaa, Don; a great comment – as is your sketch. Well done.. 😀

    Like

  2. Ese' s Voice says:

    🙂 I wouldn’t mind if somebody asked me!
    I like the details and serenity of your sketch – beautiful!

    Like

  3. Mary says:

    I love this Don – beautiful in Sepia? Great control in your details.

    Like

  4. seaangel4444 says:

    Hi Don! I absolutely LOVE this sketch! Then again, I love all your sketches! This one is sublime; there is something so incredibly tranquil about it. Thank you for providing a wonderful start to my Friday, dear Don! Cher xo

    Like

  5. Hudson Howl says:

    I’d dance around the sky in anything -a picnic basket or F-18 Hornet or on the back of hummingbird, as long as we’re just above the ground, 30,000′ cruising bores me………oh an that sketch of yours, precisely what allows us to think into our surrounds rather than see through or past them…good shtufffs, you Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Wow! Calvin, I would give anything to be in a F-18 Hornet even if it was just skimming across the ground. Pleased you enjoyed the sketch. 🙂

      Like

  6. Hudson Howl says:

    BWT…wd has fix commenting on subscribe2, commenting without a hitch again.

    Like

  7. Haha won’t catch me flying around in a picnic basket either. 😉 I love your sketch Don. I think if I ever wrote a book, I’d want you to illustrate it!
    Diana xo

    Like

    • Don says:

      Wow Diana. I just muck around with my sketch book. I’m no artist, believe me. I just enjoy expressing what I see on paper. I’d love to be able to express more, but I really don’t have the skill. But, what the hell, I still enjoy it. Thanks for your vote of confidence. 🙂

      Like

  8. Kathy says:

    Ah, the landscapes! Just love the tones. Thank you for sharing, Don. I have on my wish list, a trip over the Berg in a basket! I just put the wish in a safe place and left it alone because thinking of how possible it could be made it impossible. Recently I’ve paged through magazines – once at the doctor’s and then in the In Flight Mag, and found the name and contact details for my trip. Amazingly it’s close to where I go in the Berg. I think it will happen 🙂 .

    Like

    • Don says:

      Now you’re talking Kathy. You’ve just got to do it. It seems as if everything is coming together for you to do it. The impossible becomes possible. Enjoy 🙂

      Like

  9. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful sketch Don!

    Like

  10. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful sketch, Don.

    I’ve flown around in a picnic basket over Palm Springs California. They are HOT and NOISY . . . and sometimes tip over when they land.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I kind of got that impression, Nancy – the hot and noisy thing – but yes, I’ve always heard it’s not the going up that’s difficult, it’s the coming down. 🙂

      Like

  11. The picnic basket comment is a catch-phrase in Colorado where the hot air balloon races are held, and being this close to the mountains, it really can be enough to “make you toss your picnic lunch.” 😉
    Your sketch is wonderfully detailed, Don, and I love the sidebar pictures of Befriending Nature.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I wonder if that anchor had been to Colorado. Maybe that’s where she got it.:)

      Thanks Marylin. The sidebar pictures are of a lecture we attended at a bird-park. The bird-handler was working with that Kookaburra when suddenly a Black Sparrow Hawk flew over and began to circle. She felt a bit concerned and as you can see so did the Kookaburra. 🙂 My wife actually took the shots which I thought were so good. We sent a set of the photographs to the lecture. She was delighted.

      Like

  12. QueasyPeasy says:

    It’s a long time since I was last in South Africa but the sketches dotted around your blog are so real I can almost smell the veld.

    Like

  13. ladyfi says:

    Lovely sketch! And that was a funny comment…

    Like

  14. Yet your sketch, Don, invites the very openness of soaring – be it in a picnic basket or otherwise.

    Like

  15. This landscape is truly incredible – captures the spirit of the country, I think. The place is painted as clearly as the images in your mind. Lovely.

    Like

  16. I’ve really enjoyed catching up on your posts tonight. I love the quote, thanks for the laugh. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

