A Sketch Before The Paint

When Jane sketches a picture to paint with oils, I must say, being a sketchy person, I like to have a good and savouring look at it before she applies the paint. Here’s one of a young girl, the pose captured, I think,  so beautifully.

20140619.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, imagination, inspiration, Life, Photography, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Sketch Before The Paint

  1. Hudson Howl says:

    traces of love
    of light, of form, of texture
    does a sketch conjure up
    it captures the soul
    perseveres subjective spirit
    behind or in front of whispered hints
    the intent of the artist
    merely ride the energy home

    Jane’s sketch inspired. By the way, I always thought there was a sketchy side to you -kidding.

    Like

  2. nrhatch says:

    Lovely sketch and pose. It reminds me of my mom as a girl.

    Like

  3. Beautiful sketch! Is Jane your wife? daughter?

    Like

  4. Val Boyko says:

    I love the tilt of her head and the delicate way she holds on to her dress. The exploration of tonal values and depth. A lovely sketch!
    Sometimes the sketches have more feeling that the painting … but don’t let Jane know that 😉

    Like

  5. QueasyPeasy says:

    I have difficulty envisioning things in a different state to the original. To me this is beautiful in its simplicity and holds a bigger story. Don, I’d be interested to see Jane’s completed painting if it’s possible.

    Like

  6. Carolyn Page says:

    Very sweet; so full of innocence; as indeed a young girl portrays.
    Well done to Jane. Here’s hoping the next stage is just as successful.!

    Like

  7. Mary says:

    Lovely sketch, she captured the spirit of the young girl beautifully. Wonderful beginning.

    Like

  8. ladyfi says:

    Just gorgeous!

    Like

  9. I love the girlish ness of the child in the sketch, just lovely 🙂

    Like

  10. Don, I love Jane’s sketch just the way it is; though I’m sure it will be wonderful painted too.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

    • Don says:

      I also like it just the way it is, Wendy. I’m going to have to talk to her about the painting thing. 🙂

      Like

      • Jane could have it scanned and printed. Then she could paint the original since she has a copy of the sketch.

        My husband recently carved a top for a gate post, and then told me he was going to paint it. I said that I liked it the way it was–but also told him to do what he believed he should. It turned out wonderful painted since it matches the address sign he had carved and painted.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Yes thanks Wendy. She’s going to do that. The gate post sounds Marvellous Your husband obviously has a carving gift. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

