From My Sketchbook – 24

I again used Graphitint pencils for this one. It’s a scene from the Orange Free State, a province in South Africa.

20140716.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, From My Sketchbook, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 24

  1. Beautiful… and you call this a sketch? Seems like a full painting to me 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you. it is, but it does come from my sketchbook. A sketch from my sketchbook gave birth to this, so I suppose it is”From My Sketchbook” 🙂

      Like

  2. ptero9 says:

    Remarkable lighting and mood. Very nice Don!

    Like

  3. sefeniak says:

    Nicely done! Spectacular for what you call a sketch! 🙂

    Like

  4. Peaceful, pleasing piece, Don.

    Like

  5. Dear Don, So beautiful. Speaks to the soul. Thank you.

    Like

  6. Don this is beautiful. I love your sketches!
    Diana xo

    Like

  7. Hudson Howl says:

    Have you ever noticed, and I can not put my finger on as to why, that some landscapes command the sky and other areas the sky commands the land in the vista. Then, and I think this is the case in your sketch, land and sky co-exist, separate and for all intent and purpose giving a intimate experience, profoundly personable. This makes little sense am sure. Without a predominate horizon, there is a feeling of calm.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Calvin. I love your insight here. So true. I must say I never knowingly did that but your words awaken in me something to really explore and think about. Thank you for such a thoughtful comment. Appreciate you taking the time.

      Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    Peaceful and pleasing. Thanks for the share, Don.

    Like

  9. Love it, Don. It looks so peaceful and relaxing. 🙂

    Like

  10. Arthur & Bridget Bailey says:

    Don, this is really a stunning “sketch”

    Like

  11. Mary says:

    Beautiful landscape Don. I like the sparse but vast atmosphere, it’s quiet and peaceful.

    Like

  12. ladyfi says:

    Quite a lovely sketch.

    Like

  13. Very nicely done, Don. I especially love the gentle hint of clouds and sky. I’m learning that’s very difficult to do well. Thank you.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Marylin. Yes, I wanted to create that gentle hint. In that particular landscape the sky can be incredibly dramatic and magnificent, but then, as if to compensate, it has moments of, as you describe “a gentle hint.” 🙂

      Like

  14. Ese' s Voice says:

    Really beautiful, Don. Raw, alive but not intrusive – that serene beauty of nature (and your art, of course!).

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Ese. I really appreciate what you’ve said. I find your comment so meaningful and it speaks deeply to that creative side that seeks to express itself.. Again, Thank you.

      Like

  15. Beautiful sense of African bush. I love the dry colours and the two slopes in the horizon that lead your eye into the painting from your sketchbook.:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

