From My Sketchbook – 25

A second landscape of the Orange Free State, a province in South Africa.

20140722.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 25

  1. Hi Don, This is beautiful. Blessings, Ellen

    Like

  2. seaangel4444 says:

    Hi Don, this is yet another of your amazing works that draws me into the picture. Thank you as always, for sharing your incredible talents with us! Cher xo

    Like

  3. Val Boyko says:

    Such a lovely insight in to your landscape Don!

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    A beautiful landscape Don!

    Like

  5. cindy knoke says:

    Yay, some more of your wonderful work!

    Like

  6. Don, I love it!
    Diana xo

    p.s. If I ever write a book, will you be my illustrator?!

    Like

  7. I received a combination sketch/writing book as a gift. Quality art paper on one side of each page, with lined writing paper on the other side. You’ve inspired me to use it and think in a combination of words and drawings, Don.

    Like

  8. QueasyPeasy says:

    I love the textures within each colour group, I feel like one could scuff the earth. Just beautiful, Don. Keep up the good work, Linda

    Like

  9. A wonderful rendition of beautiful country; so textured and alive. 🙂

    Like

  10. Hi Don,

    Is this sketch done with pencils? Clearly you have a great talent.So how would you seek to showcase your talent in a bigger way?

    Shakti

    Like

    • Don says:

      They are done with Derwent Graphitint water soluble pencils, Shakti. It’s a medium I love using.

      I’m really comfortable with just putting them on my blog and don’t have any motivation to showcase them in a bigger way. I simply do it for the joy it gives me. 🙂 Thank you for your words Shakti – much appreciated.

      Like

  11. josna says:

    These sketches are stunningly beautiful, Don, so spare, and yet communicating so much. It occurs to me that that’s what your written posts are like, too. You inspire me take up sketching in order to cut down on my verbosity!

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Josna. Would love to see your sketching. Sincerely hope you will take up a pencil. 🙂 Loved your post on “pottering.”

      Like

  12. I like this one even more, Don. The range is the distance is similar to what I am blessed to look out upon (is that correct grammar?) every day from my home. Guess I’m a bit biased. 🙂

    Like

  13. Kathy says:

    I love the peace in your landscapes, Don.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Kathy. Lovely to hear from you. Hope you are well.

      Like

      • Kathy says:

        All good my side – that’s how my son always responds! I’ve been working with Acceptance for the past ten years. It’s a dream message I received when I started out with the work i do, and it has recurred a few times. Would you consider blogging on the the theme?

        Like

      • Don says:

        That’s good to know Kathy. We could certainly explore that. 🙂

        Like

  14. Kathy says:

    Wonderful! Look forward to the conversation. Have a great weekend.

    Like

  15. ladyfi says:

    A lovely sketch!

    Like

Leave a Reply

