From My Sketchbook – 26

An abandoned farm in the Orange Free State. People used to live there.

20140417.2

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 26

  1. nrhatch says:

    The mass migration from farms to cities has changed the landscape in more ways than one.

    Love the sketch.

    Like

  2. It looks like a beautiful place to live Don! What happened to the previous owners?
    Diana xo

    Like

  3. ladyfi says:

    A lovely sketch.

    Like

  4. Val Boyko says:

    Reminds me of the tumbled buildings in Scotland that people left behind. I always hope they found an easier life wherever they ended up!
    You captured this sense as well Don!
    Val x

    Like

  5. sefeniak says:

    Really nice sketch Don. Its sad that no one is living there now. Someday it would be nice to see that re-distribution of land happen in your country.

    Like

  6. davecenker says:

    Memories of a bygone era where life was simpler, and dare I say better. You capture the essence of the landscape perfectly in my mind. Very nice, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. I appreciate the beauty in the simplicity of this sketch, Don. I still visit places akin to this image when I visit relatives. They live a wonderfully simple life.

    Like

  8. Mary says:

    Perfect capture Don.

    Like

  9. Kathy says:

    The windows get me – what did they see from the inside? I see abandoned homesteads aplenty in the rural areas inland of where I live. Declining communities, it seems, until school is out! I am amazed at the numbers and I wonder what the transition will be like for them when the time comes to leave.

    Like

  10. I love your sketches, Don, especially this one. Can you tell me how long it took–from start to finish–to create this one? Was it a full scene you copied, or part imagination and reality? It’s very good.

    Like

    • Don says:

      I worked from a photograph, Marylin and it took me about 20 minutes using pen and ink with a little bit of Graphitint pencil.Often I go out sketching, but if I don’t have my sketching stuff with me I use my phone to take a shot of the subject and then sketch it later. Appreciate your interest and affirmation, Marylin.

      Like

  11. Thanks for the details. I have three pictures of houses we lived in as I was growing up, and now I’m encouraged to do some sketches from the photos. Yours really are excellent, Don.

    Like

  12. Robert says:

    I enjoy looking at your sketches Don, I have mixed feelings about empty buildings, especially when they have been a home

    >

    Like

  13. Don, how long does it take you to draw a sketch? If I had your talent, I would be drawing as soon as I got up in the morning until I went to bed at night. Maybe not. But you are super talented!

    Like

    • Don says:

      This took about twenty to twenty five minutes Sheila. Thank you for your words, but I’m really just average when you compare it all to what others do. But I’m happy with what I do. Thank you again, Sheila for your affirmation. Appreciate it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

