An Earth Tremor

An extremely strong tremor shook our country yesterday. Many felt it, but strangely enough there were many others who didn’t. I was one of the latter.Twitter was alive with responses and so was our local radio station.

I couldn’t help but chuckle when one young woman called in to the station and said quite seriously, and I mean seriously, “I’m so sorry I never felt it. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. The earth never seems to move for me.”

She only realized afterwards what she’d actually said. 🙂

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Tremors and Earthquakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to An Earth Tremor

  1. May the earth always move for us. ☺

    Like

  2. seaangel4444 says:

    Hi Don! *LOL* I think that is one of those moment in time when the young lady wished she could travel back in time; about 5 seconds and take back that little faux pas! Cher xo

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    That’s priceless! I heard someone ask that Public Protector Thuli Madonsela should investigate this abuse of the earth’s power!!

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Hahaha! Thanks for sharing her comment, Don.

    Like

  5. Val Boyko says:

    What happened when she realized what she had said? … I hope you laughed out loud 😛

    Like

  6. LOL thanks for bringing a smile to my day. Haha that’s funny. Glad the tremor didn’t affect you adversely in any way!

    Like

  7. valleygrail says:

    Funny! Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  8. cindy knoke says:

    hilarious!!! thank you~

    Like

  9. josna says:

    Awww, poor thing! When she realized, she must have wished the earth would crack open so that she could sink into it.

    Like

  10. Ha ha! The earth never seems to move for me either… lately!
    Diana xo

    Like

  11. In northern Colorado there’s been a lot of fracking. Contrary to popular belief, it has caused a serious side effect: earth tremors. Similar to 2-3 earthquake, the tremors are strong enough to crack walls and scare locals. But so far no one has called in to say the earth never moves for them… 😉

    Like

  12. ladyfi says:

    Ha ha – her comment is hilarious. Hope no one was hurt though.

    Like

  13. That is funny. Poor lady. 🙂 We have mild earthquakes here. I have found that if I am walking, I do not feel them. If I am sitting or laying down, I have a better chance to feel the earth move.

    Like

Leave a Reply

