The Yellow-Billed Kite

yellow-billed-kite

Image – Courtesy of RONCORYLUS

This time of the year I begin to scan the skies for the arrival of the Yellow- Billed Kites, my favourite bird. I always have the feeling that something precious has returned with my first sighting. It’s a beautiful bird and spends the time between August and March of the following year with us. During this time, virtually every day, they make these low level passes over our homes hunting for all sorts, their sharp eyes working and scanning the ground and their magnificent wings and tail skilfully steering them through the air.

Right now I’m filled with a wonderful sense of expectation. It can be any day now. 🙂 I wrote this Haiku for them. I wish I could read it out to them when they arrive. 🙂

Wings mounting the wind

Eyes searching the ground

In them, heaven and earth are one

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Contemplation, Haiku, inspiration, Life, Nature, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Yellow-Billed Kite

  1. Darrel H says:

    Yellow billed kites remind me of my childhood days in St Winifreds. Love those birds 🙂

    Like

  2. Val Boyko says:

    I can feel your anticipation at reconnecting with these lovely birds Don.
    This post and the haiku are so uplifting!

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I can see why you look forward to their return. Beautiful bird (and words).

    Like

  4. A beautiful looking bird Don and I love your Haiku!
    Diana xo

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    I know just what you mean, Don. We felt the same when the Ospreys returned to nest and raise young each year ~ arriving in March and leaving in August.

    Only as fish hawks, they scanned the seas for breakfast.

    Like

  6. I haven’t enjoyed a yellow-billed kite in a very long time, Don, so I truly enjoyed this. “…wings mounting the wind and eyes searching the ground…”–a perfect description.

    Like

  7. When I was growing up in Texas, we always waited for the arrival of the scissortails to let us know winter was over.
    I love your yellow-billed kites! Majestic.

    Like

  8. Don says:

    That’s wonderful Sheila. A lovely memory. There’s just something about birds.

    Like

  9. davecenker says:

    As the fall migration commences, we begin to see some amazing sights in our skies also. The peregrines, kestrels, and kites (although we don’t have the yellow-billed variety here) become more and more prevalent as the weather cools up north. My personal favorite is the swallow-tail kite. With the way that they angle their forked tail and glide on the wind, it is so graceful that I could sit and watch it all day long. Beautiful poem, thanks for sharing and best wishes for many sightings in the near future 😉

    Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    What a majestic bird! And what a lovely haiku.

    Like

  11. Lovely and powerful haiku, Don. Birds fascinate me, and I will be watching for the return of the ones that winter in our valley.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  12. Beautiful image and poem, Don.

    Like

Leave a Reply

