From My Sketchbook – 27

A small hill nearby where I live. Again done with graphitint pencils. I love the medium.

20140815.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, From My Sketchbook, inspiration, Nature, Poetic Imagination and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 27

  1. Mary says:

    I can see why Don. Love the ruggedness of the hillside – you manage the values perfectly.

    Like

  2. josna says:

    The textures are lovely, Don, the fluffy clouds and the stubbly grass. You are really great with this medium.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thank you Josna – appreciate your words. The only thing I struggle with when it comes to graphitint is the limitation on colour. I wish they would add more colours to the sets. 🙂

      Like

  3. What a beautiful drawing Don…very emotive – thank you for sharing your gift with us.

    Like

  4. Man – that almost looks like a photograph! Beautiful, Don. 🙂
    Diana xo

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Despite the abundance of browns, this sketch seems ALIVE.

    Like

  6. Val Boyko says:

    I love the depth of values you are getting from these pencils. Great sketch Don!

    Like

  7. You have a talent for taking a basic scene, Don, and giving it a strength and vital beauty. This is lovely.

    Like

  8. Kathy says:

    It’s alive, Don! Beautiful!

    Like

  9. Healing Grief says:

    Thankyou for sharing your gift with us. It is great Don.

    Karen

    Like

  10. Ese' s Voice says:

    Beautiful…and every single little detail, noticed and drawn so carefully is like a new layer…and another one that is supposed to be right there. Serene, yet so vivid.

    Like

  11. This is so beautiful, Don. Each one is my favorite!

    Like

  12. Love it Don! Beautifully executed, and I can see why you love the medium – it creates a wonderful mood to your sketches. 🙂

    Like

  13. ladyfi says:

    What a lovely sketch.

    Like

  14. Seyi sandra says:

    Loves the intricate details, great job!

    Like

  15. Don, I thought it was a photograph at first glance. Well done!

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

