From My Sketchbook – 28

A small farm house in the Northern Cape. I did it with pen and water colour.

20141008.1

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, inspiration, Life, Paintings and Comment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 28

  1. Dear Don, Beautiful art. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Looks historic – when I see such homes, I wonder about the people who lived there. Beautifully captured, Don. 🙂

    Like

  3. Val Boyko says:

    There’s a bright jauntiness to this old building. A reflection of the artist … or the stories it holds !?!
    Love it!
    Val xo

    Like

  4. tomsimard says:

    Beautifully done. Wonderful colors.

    Like

  5. It’s beautiful Don!
    Diana xo

    Like

  6. seaangel4444 says:

    Oh this is wonderful, Don! I absolutely love it! Cher xo

    Like

  7. Don, I love the look of pen and watercolor together. Beautifully done. Welcome back to Bloggerville.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  8. It could be a home in Texas or South Carolina or anywhere – and I would love it all the same. Just beautiful, Don.

    Like

  9. When I drive the blue highways of Kansas, especially in the fall when the vines and trees are turning color, there are many little former-farmhouses out in the fields, often with cattle roaming around. I love this picture.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Must be a wonderful scene Marylin. I been in the US during fall and saw some of the most beautiful scenes of colour I’ve ever seen. There’s one scene in Tennessee I have never forgotten. I can close my eyes and see it. 🙂

      Like

  10. ladyfi says:

    What a pretty sketch.

    Like

  11. Pleasing to look at and to reflect upon. A lovely creation, Don. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  12. Darrel H says:

    Good to have u back. 🙂

    Like

  13. Tim May says:

    Very nice Don. Your sketch captures a depth and personality of this farm house. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  14. Mary says:

    Wonderful work Don – you manage the pen beautifully. Love the Fall theme and brightness of the season.

    Like

  15. Healing Grief says:

    Thankyou for sharing your gift with us.
    Karen

    Like

  16. ptero9 says:

    I love the colors Don! Beautiful.

    Like

  17. Kathy says:

    Beautiful! Love it. My favorite medium with perfect sketchy detail

    Like

Leave a Reply

