A Moment in Time – 2

IMG_0293.2

Standing in our garden on a Friday evening and looking out across our village, I tried to catch the moment in these brief words:

EVENING

Evening falls and the village lights pierce the mellowing glow. Pink wispy clouds stretch themselves across the sky. Like a bright jewel the evening star gazes down, shy, but attentive. A traffic light in the distance blinks green, orange and red, a frail attempt at control in such vast beauty.

A Hadeda, as if voicing its sheer celebration of the past day, arrives, cries out and spirals down to roost. Then, the faint aroma of a braai (barbecue), and I am filled with gratitude and joy. It’s good to be alive.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in A Moment In Time, Beauty, Contemplation, inspiration, Life, Nature, Poetry, Prose, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to A Moment in Time – 2

  1. valleygrail says:

    Lovely. I felt like a guest at your sunset.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kathy says:

    Peaceful. A sense of being present and knowing that everything you need is in that moment.

    Like

  3. Rhonda says:

    I love those moments of simple, unobstructed, joie de vivre. Beautiful

    Like

  4. Beautiful image – photo and words.

    Like

  5. j.h. white says:

    I love saying these words…hadeda and braai. Although I’m having trouble with braai. I probably sound like a bird.

    Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    Sounds like a moment worth “capturing.” It’s good to be alive!

    Like

  7. tomsimard says:

    It is so very good to be alive and be able to appreciate and share such moments.

    Like

  8. Val Boyko says:

    I swear I can smell that braai wafting through the air …. Beautiful Don.
    Yes indeed. It is.
    Val x

    Like

  9. I breathed a lovely relaxing sigh coming to the end of your piece. Beautiful, my friend.

    Like

  10. You bring it to life even without the photo, Don.
    Those moments are priceless! I value them so much when they come – and they do more frequently as I get older. 🙂

    Like

    • Don says:

      I agree with you Linda – they do seem to be more frequent as you get older. I was thinking about your comment and I can remember similar moments when I was younger, but they’ve definitely increased with age. I wonder why?

      Like

  11. Reading this just as I am retiring for the night. Appreciate you sharing your gratitude inducing experience. 🙂

    Like

  12. Bill says:

    Yes it is great to be alive. Thanks.

    Like

  13. Mary says:

    What a beautiful treat Don, your words put me right in the spot to enjoy the spectacular gift of being alive and appreciating the celebration. Thank you ~ have a beautiful weekend.

    Like

  14. Through your words, Don, I shared the same sunset, especially the moment when “… the evening star gazes down, shy, but attentive.” Beautiful.
    And, yes, it does remind us how wonderful it is to be alive.

    Like

  15. Darrel H says:

    I really like this. Except the hadeda part 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  16. What a lovely moment, Don. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  17. Robert says:

    A beautiful post Don, reading it made me give thanks for being a live. Coincidently I celebrated turning 51 on Friday.

    >

    Like

  18. ladyfi says:

    I love moments like this one!

    Like

  19. davecenker says:

    These beautiful words are proof positive that if we all were to take the thoughts running through our mind at any particular point and pour them on to the page, we would all recognize how similar we are at our cores as human beings. Beautiful imagery and enlightening message, thank you for sharing.

    Like

  20. I wonder how many of us capture the same amazing view of our surroundings at the same instant. Like Sheldon in the Big Bang Theory says, “I’d like to do the numbers” Thanks for you blog and for your continued support. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

Leave a Reply

