From My Sketchbook – 29

Near an old railway line. Not sure what it is, but I’m drawn to the broken-down and dilapidated. There’s an aura and atmosphere, as well as a hidden history about places like this.

20141024_135634

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
Image | This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Contemplation, From My Sketchbook, imagination, Life, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 29

  1. Hariod Brawn says:

    A most charming sketch; and I certainly agree with your accompanying sentiments, though similarly have no obvious explanation as to why they obtain within me! A subliminal echo or a faint imprint of reminiscence? A pleasing lack of pretence? Stillness perhaps? The beauteous decaying within nature?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m also drawn to old buildings and cars and… Love this drawing Don!
    Diana xo

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    A place to return to in your dreams, full of memory and symbol and Shades. You capture it, Don, and the medium is perfect with its sketchy precise detail.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Charming vignette! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. ptero9 says:

    Lovely Don!

    I love your use of red. It glows, and gives warmth and dryness. Maybe that brings beauty to the stark decay?

    There’s resonance in decay, yes? Nothing new and pristine ever stays that way, lol! Have you ever heard Bob Dylan’s song, Everything Is Broken?

    Anyway, I love your works, they’re very emotive and somewhat exotic from where I sit right now; in the midst of a big rainy, stormy day.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Debra. I know the song so well. Thank you for reminding me. In my wild days in the sixties Bob was my high priest. I still warm to him and his music. There can be only one. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    I really like this sketch. Like you, I am drawn to broken down structures. There’s a certain feeling of history that I sense when I’m near them and when I look at your drawing.

    Like

  7. sefeniak says:

    Draws one in. Questions within, what was this place? And yes, love the drawing Don. Old and dilapidated gets new life.

    Like

  8. ladyfi says:

    Oh, I do love the faded beauty.

    Like

  9. Val Boyko says:

    It does intrigue me .. wondering what these old buildings have witnessed. Great piece Don!

    Like

  10. Beautiful drawing Don and yet, I feel a sadness to this drawing. The land holds many memories and stories beneath it and each holds a lesson for us.
    Karen

    Like

  11. Excellent details, Don.
    When the railroad lines were rerouted in my hometown (it was originally a pre-Civil War fort and was being restored, so they rerouted the railroad), they left behind the one-room sleep-over cabins. For decades the shifts of engineers and employees waiting for the train cars to be cleaned, filled, repaired, etc. had access to the bunks in the cabins. Your picture reminds me of the abandoned cabins at the edge of town, the abandoned shanties that later became layover homes for hobos and travelers looking for part time work. Add some laundry drying on ropes hanging between the little cabins and a few fire pits for cooking, and you have it!

    Like

    • Don says:

      I can just imagine what that place looked like Marylin. Sounds like my kind of place. I like the idea of the laundry. Maybe I should have stuck some laundry in mine, but sadly nobody was living there. 🙂 Thanks for sharing that.

      Like

  12. Mary says:

    Love this drawing Don – you manage to get some beautiful depth with your ink, the color added was a perfect spot for autumn. You’ve given us a a blend of neglect and a surprising wonder of what is and why. Tell us more ~

    Like

  13. josna says:

    I love this too, Don, and agree with Healing Grief that it is sad. The black ink seems to underline the pain and struggle of a hardscrabble life lived here. The shacks look abandoned–have the people been forced to move on, or are they still inhabited? And are those electric lines or bean poles?

    Like

    • Don says:

      Thanks Josna. It’s completely abandoned. The railway line is not operative any more. They are electric lines, but no more energy there now. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • josna says:

        I find abandoned railway lines haunting, mysterious, and romantic. I love walking along old railway tracks (and the Rolling Stones’ song, “Moonlight Mile.”) In the U.S. there’s a “rails to trails” movement which converts old railroad track to bicycle and walking paths. But it’s sad that the train travel is diminishing (in the U.S. at least), when by rights it should be making a big comeback to reduce the use of private cars.

        Like

      • Don says:

        Interesting Josna, train travel is also diminishing here. I also love them – there’s a tale in every rail. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  14. I share your connection to the broken down and dilapidated, and this drawing is truly awesome.
    I think these places remind us of the struggles someone has faced many years ago – struggles like the ones we face today. They are images of the natural passing of time – and not images of failures. Thanks, Don. You’re the best.

    Like

  15. Don, I always enjoy seeing your artwork. This one has a mysterious ambiance.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  16. megdekorne says:

    I am fascinated by sketchbooks and yours is amazing !

    Like

Leave a Reply

