A Bit of Wilde – 1

Courtesy Wikipedia

Courtesy Wikipedia

You’ve probably gathered by now that Oscar Wilde is a favourite of mine. One of the great conversationalists of the world, if not the greatest, whose writing is as fresh now as it was when he wrote. Outlandish, unconventional and flamboyant in spirit, he was his own person, and although much of his life was contentious and tragic, large parts of it were punctuated by sheer brilliance, in his writing, wit and repartee. Β I thought I’d like to, now and again, share some brief posts and anecdotes about him, this being the first. πŸ™‚

“Although Oscar Wilde denied that he’d ever strolled about London clutching a poppy or lily, the assumption that he did only added to his renown. ‘Anyone could have done that,’ he explained of the ambulatory flower worship attributed to him. ‘ The great and difficult thing was that I achieved – to make the whole world believe that I had done it.’ “

The Wit and Wisdom of Oscar Wilde – Ralph Keyes

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in A Bit of Wilde, inspiration, Life, wisdom and insight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A Bit of Wilde – 1

  1. This is one of Wilde’s quotes I’d never read, Don. I appreciate the lessons I learn on your posts!

    Like

  2. Oscar Wilde – even though I always recognise pictures of him, I have read only snippets of his work, such as what you posted here. I would like to rectify the omission one day – but I need a heck of a lot of years left to me to find the time to catch up on all those writers whose work I have missed!

    Like

  3. I love his wit! Recently I read the following quote and loved it too. “The suspense is terrible, I hope it lasts.”
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. tomsimard says:

    Wonderful. I”m really looking forward to these.

    Like

  5. Dan Antion says:

    I’m looking forward to these posts Don. There is a timeless quality to his wit that I enjoy very much.

    Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    Two of my favorites:

    * The worst vice of a fanatic is his sincerity. ~ Oscar Wilde

    * Always forgive your enemies. Nothing annoys them so much. ~ Oscar Wilde

    Like

  7. Susan Feniak says:

    Oscar Wilde, an interesting character to say the least. I am looking forward to reading more…..

    Like

  8. davecenker says:

    I think we could all use a bit of Wilde-ness inside all of us. To be conventional is to be predictable. To be predictable is to be boring, if not to the outside world, certainly to ourselves. At least, that’s my thoughts on the subject. I love the flamboyant nature of Oscar Wilde and his work that you describe. I have heard about him in the past, but have not given him more than a cursory glance. I will certainly need to dig deeper. Thanks for sharing Don!

    Like

  9. Val Boyko says:

    He was a brilliant mind and mental provocateur! Thank you for bringing his energy to life πŸ™‚
    Val x

    Like

  10. Good one, Don. Wilde is one of my favorites, too. Always quotable. πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. Just enjoying this post when Radio 4 mentions Oscar Wilde and his epitaph, ” either those curtains go or I do! “. Synchronicity or what!
    I enjoyed this and look forward to learning more about this man πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. ladyfi says:

    I adore Wilde!

    Like

  13. Mary says:

    Great choice for first quote! This is will be fun to tag along – he’s got the certain flare about him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

