From My Sketchbook – 30

Acacia trees alongside a road in the South African Bushveld. I used graphitint pencils and put in an overlay. I liked the effect, especially the streak of light across the road.

20141101.1_Richtone(HDR)_20141101204105923

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, From My Sketchbook, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 30

  1. Looks amazing Don, the road is inviting me to walk along its path.
    Karen

    Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Can I ask what you mean by overlay? I’d it as straight forward as it sounds? The piece is quite nice, it doesn’t look like it was easy.

    Like

  3. nrhatch says:

    Delicate and sturdy at the same time. Well done.

    Like

  4. Susan Feniak says:

    This is inviting me in for a walk! Well done Don!

    Like

  5. Dear Don, I’ve noticed the light in your art, and the trees are beautiful as well.

    Like

  6. renxkyoko says:

    It’s beautiful. I maybe wrong, but there’s something Asian in your style. of painting.

    Like

  7. Hariod Brawn says:

    It’s an exquisite piece of work Don; many congratulations. And I agree with renxkyoko’s observation; it does seem somehow suggestive of the sparse and pared-down style of ancient Chinese art.

    Like

  8. Val Boyko says:

    There’s a simplicity and depth here … As in life. I think you capture both aspects so well Don!

    Like

  9. calvin says:

    GRUNT!

    Like

  10. I always enjoy what I consider to be the use of genuine colors in your sketches, Don. I’d love to see your rendition of a Joshua Tree. 🙂

    Like

  11. The effect is simple and real, Don. Very soft light and effects, and I love the way the path turns and seems to move through the sketch. It’s lovely.

    Like

  12. Kathy says:

    It’s the suggestion of fine detail that intrigues me, and always the light. Wonderful emotive effect in your work, Don. I’ve given myself two months of lessons next year and hoping to get back into sketching. It’s what I want most and yet it is what I haven’t made time for. Typical 😦 No one to blame but me! Thanks for sharing your work. So enjoy the comments of this community.

    Like

  13. Darrel H says:

    I can just imagine you at the ‘easel’. Not sure if I spelled that right?
    Talented indeed.

    Like

  14. Mary says:

    Oh Don this is an awesome drawing – I feel like I’m walking the path right along side you. The detail captured, subtle ground colors and light are brilliant work. One of my favorites of yours.

    Like

  15. It’s gorgeous Don – I love it, especially the streak of light across the road!
    Diana xo

    Like

  16. cindy knoke says:

    You are a talented sould! ❤

    Like

  17. cindy knoke says:

    sorry meant soul~

    Like

  18. tomsimard says:

    Wonderful on so many different levels. That path is welcoming one to walk along and discover.

    Like

  19. ladyfi says:

    Wonderful sketch – love the texture.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Very lovely, Don. I like the highlights and the rich textures.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

