From My Sketchbook – 31

I thought I’d try something with a bit of an Art Nouveau touch. I don’t know why but I  loved drawing the shoulder line. There’s just something about a woman’s shoulder.

20140529.12

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, From My Sketchbook, inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 31

  1. Val Boyko says:

    She has turned to look at you over her shoulder … and is about to say something …
    This picture suggests many words and there is so much more beyond them.
    Love how you have captured her Don.
    Val x

    Like

  2. Beautiful Don, love the colours. You should do more of this style.
    Karen

    Like

  3. Art Nouveau and Don… an obvious and appreciated (by this individual) pairing. This is such an interesting and imaginative piece.

    Like

  4. Hariod Brawn says:

    Her left eye peers into the depths of me; whilst her right eye dreams of what she longs for.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Hariod, thanks for seeing that. I also intentionally made her right eye a little bigger. 🙂
      Appreciate your comment.

      Like

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        I of course appreciate the intentionality Don, and can see that your drawing skills are well advanced. Were you signalling some characterisitic of the woman’s psyche in doing this?

        Like

      • Don says:

        Hariod, when I drew it I had the left and right brain perception in mind which I simply transferred on to the left and right eye. The left eye is smaller, more detailed, rational and sees that way, while the right eye is less defined and bigger. You said it. It’s the seeing of vision and dreams and beyond the boundaries of the rational. Both eyes of course are an integrated whole. Perhaps this is “toooo” much explanation. 🙂 Thank you for your interest – much appreciated. I hope this doesn’t interfere with what you first saw. 🙂

        Like

      • Hariod Brawn says:

        Thank you Don; and no, it doesn’t “interfere” at all with what I saw, which was more or less what you describe minus the brain asymmetry aspect. There clearly was some intent behind what you depicted, so many thanks for elaborating. Best wishes, Hariod.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice drawing Don. I agree about the shoulder. They are very sexy.

    Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    I like it! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. I love it. You are a gifted artist Don. ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  8. Kathy says:

    A look of recognition! Like the style and the subject. Free strokes , you’ve had fun, Don. Is she a muse?

    Like

  9. You’ll get a kick out of a 10-year-old’s comment of this sketch, Don. My grandson saw this over my shoulder while I was at the computer, and I asked what he thought. (He’s very into “girlfriends” at this point when “going out” means sitting together in the lunch room.)
    He studied the picture and said, “This is a very good artist to not put hair on to the top of her head but down the sides and under her chin, and still make you want to have her for your girlfriend.”
    Kudos, Don!
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don says:

      I nearly collapsed laughing, Marylin, Jane my wife as well. You want to get down to the true congruency of feelings, ask a child. Thanking you for making my day. 🙂

      Like

  10. Mary says:

    Well if this isn’t fantastic! And, that shoulder line, simple as it is has become the perfect line for a bit of sass! Love this special drawing Don – beautiful creativity.

    Like

  11. Don, she’s beautiful, and I love her expression.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

