From My Sketchbook – 32

20141120.4

Nature always begins to recover what was taken from her. Another abandoned building I did in pen and ink and graphitint pencil.

About Don

I love life. Sometimes it makes sense, other times not. Discerning its underlying patterns and beauty always provides great reward and meaning and is a passion I ineptly follow. I feel deeply attached to nature and love the sea with its distinct moods and colour and find walking along its beaches wonderfully inspiring. Writing, sketching and photography is a sheer joy for me and the blog is one of the places I am able to express these pursuits.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Contemplation, From My Sketchbook, inspiration, Life, Nature, Poetic Imagination, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to From My Sketchbook – 32

  1. That is a beautiful sketch, Don. It really captures the fragility of Man’s creations in the face of Nature’s quiet but inexorable force. Well executed. 🙂 Wish I could do that kind of drawing.

    Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful, and so true. Nature reclaims her turf.

    Like

  3. Hariod Brawn says:

    A wonderful piece of work Don; though it’s a little frustrating that the photograph can’t be expanded so as to show much greater detail, which I would have loved to have seen. In any case, many congratulations on this work Don. All best wishes, Hariod.

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    Beautiful detail, Don. Despite its somber appearance, the building seems to be inviting us in to explore its secrets.

    Like

  5. seaangel4444 says:

    Don, your incredible talents never cease to amaze me. Each sketch you share with us evokes a special feeling; in this particular case, I feel renewal despite the abandoned sense as well. Always brilliant, dear Don! Cher xo

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    Wow this is an awesome drawing Don – your building details are exquisite, and the trees/shrubs are realistic. I love this one!

    Like

  7. ladyfi says:

    What lovely details!

    Like

  8. tomsimard says:

    Love it, Don. In fact so much so I just sent it to my wife, who draws as well, a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. davecenker says:

    Beautiful work, you are quite talented Don! I would love to see a time lapse video of Mother Nature in action. She moves so slowly, but so surely – perhaps a lesson for all of us 😉

    Like

  10. This is so beautiful Don – I love your sketch book!
    Diana xo

    Like

  11. Always enjoy your sketches, Don. This one reminds me of an abandoned sugar refinery in Tortola that has since been renovated into a restaurant. They never really lose their life!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Amazing detail, cannot believe you haven’t been doing this for long? Did you just start drawing one day? You are naturally gifted and am glad you share it with us.
    Karen

    Like

  13. Oh, wow!
    The detail is amazing, Don. Well done.

    Like

  14. Susan Feniak says:

    Great sketch Don! wow! I am glad that nature is reclaiming its turf as that building appears rather eerie. Of course most deserted building do!

    Like

  15. josna says:

    The building looks almost alive, Don, with curly tendrils of hairs sprouting out everywhichwhere. And that raffish-looking palm tree in front–it seems to me to have a cheekily defiant attitude. Your style in this one seems quite different–terrific detail. Perhaps it’s that pen-and-ink and pencil combination.

    Like

    • Don says:

      Josna, I’m sure you remember the old Arthur Mee encyclopaedias. Most of the pictures were black and white, but there were some sepia pictures and I’ve tried to create that particular style. Not that successful I might say, but you’re right, the style is a little different. Enjoyed your insights – thank you.

      Like

  16. Don, I can see why you’d want to draw this one. Your passion shines through in this beautiful artwork. My own home is getting smothered in vines–and I love it that way. Nature is the best decorator.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

